As Pro 8 vs Toon Boom AP 2

A place to discuss non-Moho software for use in animation. Video editors, audio editors, 3D modelers, etc.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Shepard

As Pro 8 vs Toon Boom AP 2

Post by Shepard »

Hi, my name is Angelo and I'm an italian boy 22 years old.
Sorry for my bad english :D

I study computer science, and for this summer I will divert with cartoon animation in South Park's style (therefore with animations not particularly perfect).

I already have read this thread: viewtopic.php?t=10124&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

but it's 2 years old, and now the two software are upgrade in Anime Studio Pro 8 and Toon Boom Animate Pro 2, introducing new features.

So I decided to open this new thread.

I state: I've never done animation before! I'm totally inexpert in this field.

Which software is more indicate for me? AS Pro 8 or Toon Boom AP 2?

I have see the "Tour video" in the homepage of AS Pro 8 and hit me the possibility to record the audio in real time and sync the lips totally in automatic!!
In Toon Boom AP 2 I don't know if I can record the audio, and for the lips sync there is a specific method (therefore don't is automatic as AS Pro 8 ).

Also, in the previously thread that I have linked, someone wrote that in AS Pro 8 it's possible to drag a point and drawing directly from a primitive figure, helping who (as me) can't to draw, creating easily a figure, dragging the point with the mouse.

You confirmed theese two features? Are available also in Toon Boom Animate Pro 2 or not?

I know that this is a AS'forum for AS'discussion, so you can might be ever AS' fans, but I ask you an objective opinion: for a beginner of digital animations (as me) it's better AS Pro 8 or Toon Boom AP 2? The price isn't a problem.