Pro: Best Way to Correct Knees & Elbow Folds on Raster Images

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

RendCycle

Pro: Best Way to Correct Knees & Elbow Folds on Raster Images

Post by RendCycle »

Hi! I'm new to Moho and using Raster Images in animation. What is the best way to correct animation of knees and elbow folds on Moho Pro 12? Please refer to the image below for more info.

synthsin75

Re: Pro: Best Way to Correct Knees & Elbow Folds on Raster Images

Post by synthsin75 »

Bone>Create smooth joint for bone pairs

Victor has an awesome tutorial for using it more than once on the same limb: https://www.lostmarble.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=27158
Greenlaw

Post by Greenlaw »

Yes, try Smooth Joint first. It's the easiest thing to try and if it works, that's great! Smooth Joint is what I used for the Puss In Boots elbows and in other early Moho TV work. It can work well for certain textures, however, you might see issues with very detailed textures, like between your character's sleeve and forearm. Definitely give it a try though.

If it doesn't work as desired, I suggest creating a custom mesh and using a Smart Bone in the joint to correct the deformations. When set up properly, the rotation of the joint will deform the mesh exactly the way you want. Tip: it helps to divide the mesh at the joint so you can overlap elements in the drawing, like the sleeve over the arm. This also helps when you need to change the stacking order, like when the character reaches behind himself.
RendCycle

Post by RendCycle »

synthsin75 wrote: Sat Aug 19, 2023 5:50 pm Bone>Create smooth joint for bone pairs

Victor has an awesome tutorial for using it more than once on the same limb: https://www.lostmarble.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=27158
Excellent tip! I will try this out. Thank you very much! :-)
RendCycle

Post by RendCycle »