Choreography???

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

kellz5460

Choreography???

Post by kellz5460 »

okay- well i suppose this may come naturally to some but for others I'm lost-

choreography- not just for dancing, but for other things such as fights

does anybody know of any websites or info for this- most of them regard live action or dance choreography

I'm studying alot of films and cartoons but I can see already a big difference in films and cartoons- theres a flow thats totally different in an animation from live action, although I suppose you can animate anything

The main reason is because I think the little bit I've ventured into fight scenes- my fights don't have any pop- they're actually quite realistic in a sense

which unfortunately is not eye catching- I need help making them more....animated
OMG make it stop!
funksmaname

Post by funksmaname »

imho, editting can make or break a scene - you don't lack the ability to create dynamic snippets, but the 'pop' in your work is probably lost in lingering editing that kills momentum... maybe something worth looking into instead of actual 'choreography' - the obvious main difference is that with real people you can correct them and change the entire thing over and over through a session - you just can't do that with animation.

I think working on your storyboarding skills will really improve this, plan more angles and cuts and make the storyboard completely 'readable' before starting to animate, with a clear plan on how the editting will put it all together. You might find you end up having to do a lot less 'work' with the actual animation part

I might be completely wrong, but that's my thought on it right now :)
AnimeNub

Post by AnimeNub »

I think a lot of what makes animated fight choreography look great is careful selection of staging.