Element of surprise in action scenes

Whatever...

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Rasheed

Element of surprise in action scenes

Post by Rasheed »

Short: In many action scenes I see that the director has put some surprises into it, probably to make it more entertaining. Is this just a Hollywood trick or more generally applicable to action scenes?
____

Longer: I wanted to know why I never particularly liked the Popeye cartoons as a kid, as compared to the newer cartoons. I studied some of the animation in old Popeye cartoons (downloaded from archive.org) and saw there wasn't really any element of surprise in the action scenes of Popeye animations, although there were sudden plot twists. Now I could be wrong, so correct me if I'm wrong.

I'm not sure if this was intentional (part of the genre), but I find this type of predictable action scenes less entertaining than those in the more modern cartoon shorts (or cartoon features).

I'm reading the storyboarding book by Don Bluth*, where he promotes to put some element of surprise in action scenes for the viewer, because it is so much more entertaining.

I've studied some life action scenes in an action movie I've seen on tv recently (The Patriot), and this had lots of elements of surprise in the action scenes (in the final show down so many, that it almost became ridiculous to watch).

Now, is this type of development during an action scene typically Hollywood, or is it more generally true for visual storytelling?

*Note: A nice book, but Bluth leaves out too much (only 112 pages). It's more like an inspirational book than a study book, although it has some useful pointers. Bluth uses some of his features as examples (mainly The Secret of NIMH and All Dogs Go To Heaven).
Nichod

Post by Nichod »

saw there wasn't really any element of surprise in the action scenes of Popeye animations