Building a single shadow out of multiple image layers

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

cableon

Building a single shadow out of multiple image layers

Post by cableon »

Hello all,

I am an ASP newbie, so I'm afraid I might ask very basic questions for a while (most probably after a quick search through the forum search engine though).

To start with, I am looking for a simple and efficient way to build and coordinate shadows made of image layers : should I duplicate and rotate the original image layers, as with the vector method shown in the tutorial ? How do I then "blacken" them once duplicated please ?
Or should I first duplicate and blacken my images out of ASP ?
Is there an even simpler and more accurate method ?

Hoping I'm making myself clear...
heyvern

Post by heyvern »

You want to use the same images for say a character, as your shadow layers by "distorting" or moving them correct?

If that is the case you would need to create new artwork that is "black" (AS can't edit images so you have to use an image editor for this). Duplicate the images you used and then just fill them with black. You won't be able to "soften" the edges though unless you do that to the images. You may get "fringies" around the image layers on top. That depends on how you created the transparency for the images.

Another option is to use the images as masks for a black vector layer. You will need to become familar with the concept of masking to do this. Duplicate the image layers and use a big black filled vector shape on a layer above the image "shadow" layers. Set the masking for the bone/group to "hide all" and the images to "add to mask but keep invisible" and set the shadow vector layer to "mask this layer". That will produce the "black" shadow without having to create a second set images for the shadows.