General Workflow?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

mkelley

General Workflow?

Post by mkelley »

I'm a total newbee with Anime Studio -- bought it yesterday -- and all of my experience (20+ years) was with 3D programs (mostly Max).

I'm trying to figure out a good character workflow -- finally got one with Max after all these years and now I'm starting all over again (g). I found a site which sells characters for AS and while I don't need to buy any it looked like they have a "basic" setup which might be useful to copy:

http://www.cartoonsolutions.com/store/c ... 16595.html

Is this how most folks rig their characters? The one thing that doesn't show up here is facial expressions -- with 3D morph controls we can add a smile, for example, to the basic phonemes so there is only one set of phonemes needed, but here I'm guessing you have to create separate sets of mouth positions for when the character is smiling when they are talking versus talking when they are angry -- is that correct?

And while I don't quite fully understand actions, am I right in assuming I can use them for eye blinks?
slowtiger

Post by slowtiger »

Actions for blinks etc - definitely.

Mouth shapes as different layers grouped inside switch layers. I have a project which has all mouths in one switch, named a_smile and a_angry and so on. You don't need that many mouths over all.

Rigging strongly depends on your character and your style of animation.
mkelley

Post by mkelley »

Thanks.

I'm understand more since I took apart the sample file that comes up when you first bring up AS -- I see how switch layers are used to contain the expressions. I assume you do this as well for hand positions.

The learning curve for this stuff is *much* shallower than 3D -- I'm finding I feel very comfortable creating animations that look pretty darn good even after one day (whereas it can take literally years to learn to do the same thing in 3D).