Linking Switch Layers to a Bone

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

huzz

Linking Switch Layers to a Bone

Post by huzz »

I have created 2 separate characters, and have one bone on each - their heads. They are images, but the switch layers (eyebrows, eyes, and mouth) are vectors in switch layers. The first one i did, linked the switch layers to the image inside the Bone group. They all move together. Perfect.
I created the second character the same way, but for some reason when I move the head, the eyes etc. just stay put. I am sure the settings are correct. I have tried using the bind layer tool from the Bone tools, but (not really knowing if that is the right thing anyway) nothing happens. I am confussed as to why it worked on one, but not the other...
I have posted here before, and HeyVern gave some great responses, and I am an amateur. But despite this, I know largely what things to look for when there is lack of and/or strange movement. But i seriously created these both the same way, and don't understand why one works and not the other...
Help?
Many thanks.
Huzz
Genete

Post by Genete »

When you say "The first one i did, linked the switch layers to the image inside the Bone group" what do you mean?

I think it is a problem of usage of bind layer tool.
First let me show you a general bone layer and its child layers:
-Main Bone Layer:
--A child Vector layer
--A child Switch layer
--A child Bone layer
--A child particle layer
--A child Group layer
--A child image layer
and so on.

When you BIND a child layer TO A BONE of its parent bone layer, you have to do followings steps in order:

a) Select the layer that you want to bind in the Layer window.
b) Select the Bind Layer tool.
c) Select the bone of the parent bone layer that you want the selected layer to be binded to.