How to stop gradients from being moved by the bone

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

ZV1LLE

How to stop gradients from being moved by the bone

Post by ZV1LLE »

I just made a new rig, but the bones are dragging the gradients with it, causing the character to break. I'm new to moho and have searched for a solution but to no avail, can anyone please tell me how to fix this :cry:
Greenlaw

Re: How to stop gradients from being moved by the bone

Post by Greenlaw »

[Message deleted for some corrections. Will post corrected info later.]
Last edited by Greenlaw on Wed Apr 03, 2024 10:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Greenlaw

Post by Greenlaw »

Sorry, I posted info earlier and realized I had some of it backward after I posted it. Anyway, the following info should be more helpful...

If the gradient is part of the rig, then you normally want it to deform with bones. But if you want the gradient to stay in place as the art slides through it, then you should probably put it in a separate layer that's unaffected by the bones. You can then use the deforming art as a mask for the non-moving gradient layer. To make the layer with the gradient unaffected by bones, select the layer and then choose Bone > Release Layer And Points

If the gradient is part of a character and you only want some bones to affect it, then you probably want to use Link Bones To Layer. (This was called Use Selected Bones For Flexi-binding in previous versions of Moho.) When you go down this route, you'll probably want to use it throughout the rig because any layers not bound this way can still be affected by other bones. There are some exceptions, but let's take this a step at a time.