Import images for reference are blurry

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

cherrytomato

Import images for reference are blurry

Post by cherrytomato »

Hi, I'm new to moho. I used to use Toonboom, but want to explore moho more. I'm using moho pro 14. I use moho to draw the character. I import the images as reference to draw over, but it turns out blurry. I tried both png and jpg, they has the same result. Can anyone walk me through how to get clear image please? The image is 11MB, I scale it with in the screen size.
I tired uncheck "GPU caching", nothing changed.
In Moho: Image
Using whindows' photos:Image
Greenlaw

Re: Import images for reference are blurry

Post by Greenlaw »

One more thing to consider and try: Moho does not fully support 16-bit color (you can import it, but the result may not be what you expect,) and I'm pretty sure Moho can't export 16-bit color yet. (It's been a long-standing request.) Because of this, I only import 8-bit (meaning 24-bit) images, and I've yet to see this issue here.

TBH, though, I haven't fully tested this in Moho 14 yet, only basic examples so far. I normally render only character passes from Moho and composite with the BG art in Ae, Nuke, or Fusion to use full 16-bit color backgrounds in my final renders. So, when I import a background image to Moho, it's almost always just a placeholder.

I don't know if 16-bit imports have anything to do with this 'low-res' display/render issue, but if anyone can compare a standard 8-bits per channel vs 16-bits per channel image imported to Moho, please post what you find. (If I have time, I'll try this test during my lunch break today.)