I Animated a drawing I made 40 Years (!!) ago when I was six!

Want to share your Moho work? Post it here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

mmmaarten

I Animated a drawing I made 40 Years (!!) ago when I was six!

Post by mmmaarten »

Hi Folks,

Last year I animated a drawing I made when I was five (at that time I used Spine to animate). Now, to learn Moho, I took a drawing I made when I was six to have a project to start to learn Moho with.

It's definitely not perfect (like the loops of the smoke trails) and I'm still struggling a little with the Moho interface (which makes sense 'cause I'm still quite new to it), but I put quite some time into this so finished it today to start a new project fresh and clean 8)

Used more techniques in Moho than imagined before hand, so it was worht it for a first project!:
- animating/deforming images along a path, masking that with an animated mask and deforming the result again (per smoke trail)
- using meshes to deform images
- using the native bone tools, including the lovely bone sketch tool
- using some quite handy external scripts, like my favourite mr curve tool, which I really love!
- learning some layer properties
- UI, layers, preview etc.
- etc.

Also had some troubles here and there, which is a good thing to bump across sooner than later! Still struggling a little with the timeline and bone sketch tool mostly, so I'm not as comfortable yet with Moho as I am with Spine for 2d mesh/bones animations, but I'll definitely get there and I love Moho already! It's a matter of getting used to it and getting muscle memory!
When I'm more comfortable with Moho I'll have better motion and overlapping action and such. For now I'm quite satisfied with what I've learned with this project. It's all about progression, right?! :D

Thanks to the ones helping me learning Moho on this forum! You know who you are! very much appreciated!

Here's the result (endless loop):

Adults should play more often
Ronbo