Save Tracing Image with Project

Discuss ideas for new features with other users. To submit feature requests to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

mgo

Save Tracing Image with Project

Post by mgo »

Hey there, I've been using Moho on a regular basis for a couple of months now for editorial illustrations. One regular pain point is that tracing images are not saved with the project. So, the suggestion is to save them with the project :)
🚀
Greenlaw

Re: Save Tracing Image with Project

Post by Greenlaw »

I prefer importing the image to a regular Image Layer vs using the Select Tracing Image feature.

Using a regular Image Layer offers more options than Select Tracing Image, like being able to reposition, rotate, and scale the image, change the layer's stacking order position, adjust transparency level, set the render flag, etc. Oh, and the project remembers that I imported the Image Layer! 😸

Some tips:
  • Set the layer to Do Not Render This Layer...unless of course you do want to render it.
  • You can adjust the Opacity level to what you're comfortable with. If you do this, be sure Transparency and GPU Acceleration is enabled in Display Quality...this will insure that you see the transparency effect and that it stays on while you're tracing. If GPU Acceleration is not enable, the transparency will switch to solid when you click or hold down the mouse button. You can disable GPU Acceleration when you're done tracing (recommended.)
  • Remember that since this is an image layer, you can move it over or under your drawing layers, and you can even leave it solid to mask out layers beneath it. This can make it easier to trace from. Then when you're done, just hide the layer.