Idea for a new mechanic

Moho allows users to write new tools and plugins. Discuss scripting ideas and problems here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

ImpMontezuma

Idea for a new mechanic

Post by ImpMontezuma »

Hello, I'm new to moho scripting. And I have several ideas of things to create. I'm still reading the documentation. But anyway, I wanted to ask the more experienced people if some things are possible and have been tried before. The first one is to try to separate the rendering from the position of the layers. I think the advantages of this are pretty obvious. Which makes me believe it must be either very difficult or impossible to do. Anyway, which one ^^?
Lukas

Re: Idea for a new mechanic

Post by Lukas »

ImpMontezuma wrote: Tue Feb 15, 2022 6:44 amThe first one is to try to separate the rendering from the position of the layers.
Could you be more specific? I have no idea what you're trying to achieve.
ImpMontezuma

Post by ImpMontezuma »

When you render a frame, moho renders each layer based on its order, like a queue, right? Where a layer in the later position sits on top of the earlier ones. If I'm not mistaken, the layer ID is actually the position of it in that queue. But anyway, I'm thinking of finding a way to "force" moho to render each frame, not based on the order of those IDs, but on a "random" order defined by the user. I believe Unity has a similar mechanic.
hayasidist

Post by hayasidist »

the immediately obvious solution is to use moho's capabilities to reorder the layers using a script (or, of course, manually) -- there's no scripting access _within_ the render engine..

take a look at GroupLayer:GetLayerOrdering()

Moho uses Layer UUIDs - unique identifiers - so the layers are ordered using those ...

e.g. if you create a table of uuids and you start with layer uuid[0] above uuid[1] to swap them at frame f use the animstring set value function

GroupLayer:GetLayerOrdering():SetValue(f, uuid[1] .. "|" .. uuid[0])