Workspace tip in AS 6

Have you come up with a good Moho trick? Need help solving an animation problem? Come on in.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Workspace tip in AS 6

Postby Víctor Paredes » Wed Jul 01, 2009 4:52 pm

Ok, with the new dockable windows it's so easy to organize the workspace just with some shortcuts
I have edited the string file (you can found file and instructions here) to add and modify all the menu shortcuts I want. So my windows menu is like this:
Image

First, we have the normal window
Image

When you be animating you won't need the style window too much, so you can undock with Control+] it and drag it to the right most you can (look at the screenshot, at right you can see a little part of the style window). All the vertical space now will be for layer window. If you want it back, just dock it again Control+]. You can dock and undock all the time.
Image

If you are drawing, you don't need the timeline, so you can undock it Control+[and drag it to the right. When you be animating, Just dock it again Control+[.
Image

Maybe you know most useful tool shortcuts and don't need much the tools window when drawing or animating. The same, just undock it (Control+T in my case), drag it to right and dock again when you want Control+T.
Image

Ok, finally, maybe you want all the workspace for drawing. Undock all windows (Control+L to dock/undock the layers panel in my case). It's great when you have to draw on a single layer.
Image

So, as a resume, you just need to drag to the right the undocked windows one time. Once you have all the undocked windows positioned in right you just play with the shortcuts

PD: Drag to the right the windows is similar to close it, but not the same. Actually, if you close a window, this tip doesn't work the same: instead having the shortcut working as dock/undock it works as open undocked/dock/undock in the last place/dock...
Last edited by Víctor Paredes on Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
 
Posts: 4770
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland

Postby Mikdog » Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:26 am

Cool!

After reading your post, I thought what'd be rad, for someone like me who's working with 2 monitors - a macbook pro and a cintiq, is if the main window could be cloned and dragged over to the other monitor to have a full screen view of the main window stage.

That'd be super neat.
Anime Studio walk cycle tutorial, some timeline basics and using Photoshop and Anime Studio together: http://www.mikescottanimation.com/product/pshop_anime_studio_tut_files/
User avatar
Mikdog
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: South Africa

Postby Víctor Paredes » Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:44 pm

Mikdog wrote:After reading your post, I thought what'd be rad, for someone like me who's working with 2 monitors - a macbook pro and a cintiq, is if the main window could be cloned and dragged over to the other monitor to have a full screen view of the main window stage.

That'd be super neat.

Oh, yes, that would be very cool. I often use the division screen button on AS (side by side view button, at bottom of main window) to animate details as pupils. On one side I zoom in one eye to move precisely the pupil and on the other side I zoom back and see where exactly is the character looking. It's very useful for complex characters, plus you can change the display quality on each side, so on the zoomed in view you can have activated the paths and in the zoomed back view you can have them deactivated. Very very useful.
What I mean is if you would have a cloned main window you could have this kind of preview always working on one monitor. That would be sweet.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
 
Posts: 4770
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland

Postby Mikdog » Thu Jul 02, 2009 7:36 pm

Cooooooooooooool! Ya, the divisible views are good, but I think the split screen mode on a dual-monitor setup would be styling. How hard i it to set this kind of thing up? I'd imagine a script or something'd be needed? Let me just program some LUA code. Jokes, I have no idea how that works.
Anime Studio walk cycle tutorial, some timeline basics and using Photoshop and Anime Studio together: http://www.mikescottanimation.com/product/pshop_anime_studio_tut_files/
User avatar
Mikdog
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: South Africa

Postby Víctor Paredes » Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:28 pm

I don't think this could be made with lua. Maybe an external program could clone an application, but it still being hard something like that exists. I mean, you want to clone only the main window, not all AS application.

What you could do, I think, is to divide in two the AS window -using side by side- and expand it horizontally through both monitors. The menus bar will be divided on both monitors and you will have to undock tools and timeline (if your preview monitor is on left). Doesn't sound as cool as clone the window, but it's a step.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
 
Posts: 4770
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland

Postby Mikdog » Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:06 pm

I don't think it'd be toooooo hard. (says the n00b)

Still, what I'm after is a full-size window on the left monitor and the regular workspace on the right, working monitor, still with the ability to move, scale and manipulate objects with whatever tool I have in the preview window. I think that'd be awesome. Similar to the kind of setup some people have with Photoshop. Rad.

I get your workaround but I'm not even gonna try it. Bit too fiddly for me, though my mind did kind of go there.
Anime Studio walk cycle tutorial, some timeline basics and using Photoshop and Anime Studio together: http://www.mikescottanimation.com/product/pshop_anime_studio_tut_files/
User avatar
Mikdog
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: South Africa

Postby Mikdog » Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:18 pm

I put it in 'feature requests'
Anime Studio walk cycle tutorial, some timeline basics and using Photoshop and Anime Studio together: http://www.mikescottanimation.com/product/pshop_anime_studio_tut_files/
User avatar
Mikdog
 
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: South Africa

Postby rogermate » Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:57 am

Mikdog wrote:I don't think it'd be toooooo hard. (says the n00b)

Still, what I'm after is a full-size window on the left monitor and the regular workspace on the right, working monitor, still with the ability to move, scale and manipulate objects with whatever tool I have in the preview window. I think that'd be awesome. Similar to the kind of setup some people have with Photoshop. Rad.


I'm wondering if there might be a possibility to get this using third party software. There is definitely software that can clone what is happening on one PC to one or more other PC's on a network. The technique you describe is also very common for software development where the running program is shown full screen on one monitor while the development tools, debugger, and source code appear on the other screen.
I think a utility app can "spy" on one window that Anime studio is displaying, even if at a small size, and reproduce that in another window. There is some public domain software that does something like this for the entire window, maybe it supports specific windows within an app.

http://www.uvnc.com/

Also, some fancy graphics cards with multi-monitor support might have applets to do this. Perhaps your Cintiq comes with an applet?
Try a Cintiq forum as well.

Please let us know if you get a useful solution.
rogermate
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:53 am
Location: Mars

Postby arfa » Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:17 pm

I follow how shortcuts are set using Anime Studio Pro.strings but can't fathom the difference between:
/Menus/Window/Actions=ActionsK - which shows as ctrl+K
and
/Menus/Window/Library=LibraryL - which shows as ctrl+shift+L

I am a big hotkey user and being able to designate ctrl+? and ctrl+shift+? would increase the range of letter use __ if I could get this bit sussed.

edit___
I just looked at /Menus/Edit/Redo=RedoZ
and /Menus/Edit/Undo=UndoZ
? ? ? I am sure there is a simple answer but it has me beat for now :?
thanks - arfa
arfa
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby Víctor Paredes » Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:46 pm

I don't know either how to configure shortcuts for control+shift, but if someone has an answer it would be very cool.

Anyway, I don't know if someone else found useful this tip, personally I can't live without this workspace shortcuts. It's just ideal to work on my tablet.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
 
Posts: 4770
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland

Postby Blue » Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:40 pm

I had limited success. I made the following changes to the strings file and the Ctrl U, Ctrl Y toggle the windows, but now:

Select Tracing Image... shows "Ctrl + ."

and

Show Tracing Image...shows "Ctrl + e"

I didn't set that, as you see below:


/Menus/View/SelectTracingImage=Select Tracing Image...
/Menus/View/ShowOutputOnly=Show Output OnlyJ
/Menus/View/ShowTracingImage=Show Tracing Image
/Menus/View/VideoSafeZones=Video Safe ZonesF
/Menus/View/View=View
/Menus/Window/Actions=ActionsK
/Menus/Window/Layers=LayersY
/Menus/Window/Library=Library
/Menus/Window/Style=Style]
/Menus/Window/Timeline=Timeline[
/Menus/Window/Tools=ToolsU
joelstoryboards.com - (WinXP SP3, ASP 6.1)
User avatar
Blue
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Los Angeles

Postby tonym » Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:27 pm

selgin wrote:Anyway, I don't know if someone else found useful this tip, personally I can't live without this workspace shortcuts.


Thanks for this tip, selgin! Your tip about how to quickly hide the style window and expand the layers window simultaneously is awesome.
User avatar
tonym
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:23 pm
Location: Missouri


Return to Tips & Techniques

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests