Using 3D backgrounds for 2D Characters?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

warspite

Using 3D backgrounds for 2D Characters?

Post by warspite »

Hi All. I am on the 30 Day Trial of AS pro, so pretty new to the scene. I am looking to use ASP to produce cartoons for Church applications. So, need ways of creating characters and settings from biblical times, among other things.

Been on the Content paradise site to see if I can get any characters and backgrounds that might give me a kick start. Didn't find much, but Meshbox do some lovely 3D stuff for Ancient Egypt.

Would it look very strange to put AS 2D figures on to these 3D backgrounds? Or should I stick to 2D offerings such as the Loopy Desert? As a beginner, I suspect I might be better to keep things simple...
Last edited by warspite on Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ray Wiseman

SAPIT QUI DEUM SAPIT
moorsel

Post by moorsel »

Together with my son I created an animation that plays in the same era and perhaps in a comparable scenery. As my son is not that old, we kept it simple and mixed hand created characters with photos.

http://nl.youtube.com/watch?v=Qx6dazpIYn8&fmt=18

See also this thread on the forum:

viewtopic.php?t=9717&highlight=

PS although it plays in the same era and in the same scenery, our animation is perhaps less biblical: it is about a war between the romans and the egyptians. Please don't be offended if you think it is too violent, it was only meant to inspire you.
Gr,
Frank

My youtube profile: http://nl.youtube.com/user/fvmoorsel
warspite

Post by warspite »

That was amazingly effective. The lesson for me is that your 3D background structures did not look out of place, as they were in the same style as the foreground characters.

Thanks for being sensitive. I am an ex Navy man, so no need to be over careful.
Ray Wiseman

SAPIT QUI DEUM SAPIT
DK

Post by DK »