Version 5.6

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

User avatar
jorgy
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 8:01 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post by jorgy » Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:56 pm

Genete wrote:
Yes, there will be a Linux update, but I'm afraid I don't know the release schedule.
Thank you very much Mike for the kind response. At last I know Linux is not forgotten.

:)
That is excellent news!

jorgy
User avatar
jorgy
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 8:01 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post by jorgy » Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:09 pm

Lost Marble wrote:Here's Where you can get the Linux build of version 5.6 immediately:

http://www.lostmarble.com/downloads/Ani ... 5.6_EN.zip

I'm not sure when we'll find a spot on the Smith Micro site, but the build exists, and you can start using it right away.

-Mike
Thank you!
User avatar
Rhoel
Posts: 844
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:09 am
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contact:

Post by Rhoel » Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:18 pm

ulrik wrote:It would be nice if you could explain what you did with this "shadow map" on second effect
Okay here it is - Had to make it again as I didn't keep the original. Based on the original mushroom idea. (Maybe we should have a make-the-best-mushroom competition - here is my entry :D ).

1: Basic shape.
2: Add the image texture to effect 1. (stretch mode)
3: Add the transparent png to effect 2 (also stretch mode).
4: Render.
5: Stand back with amazement ... nice!.

Here it is with all the elements.

Image

Lots of potential with this.



Rhoel
Genete
Posts: 3483
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: España / Spain

Post by Genete » Sun Mar 30, 2008 1:06 am

Lost Marble wrote:Here's Where you can get the Linux build of version 5.6 immediately:

http://www.lostmarble.com/downloads/Ani ... 5.6_EN.zip

I'm not sure when we'll find a spot on the Smith Micro site, but the build exists, and you can start using it right away.

-Mike

Wooohooo!!!!
Thanks Mike!!!

:D :D :D

-G
Genete
Posts: 3483
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: España / Spain

Post by Genete » Sun Mar 30, 2008 1:44 am

J. Baker wrote:
Lost Marble wrote:Here's Where you can get the Linux build of version 5.6 immediately:

http://www.lostmarble.com/downloads/Ani ... 5.6_EN.zip

I'm not sure when we'll find a spot on the Smith Micro site, but the build exists, and you can start using it right away.

-Mike
Trying to install on Ubuntu 7.10 AMD64, I get the following error...

"error while loading shared libraries: libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

So I tried installing it but it says I already have a later version of it (libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0)?
There should be something broken in your distribution. I have Ubuntu 6.10 (yes still in Edgy :roll:) and the new 5.6 version work fine.
User avatar
Rasheed
Posts: 2008
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 8:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Rasheed » Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:28 am

I also think the 64-bit distro is somewhat different from the 32-bit distro. On my Intel Mac (64-bits Core 2 Duo), the 64-bits distro didn't work, so I had to use the 32-bit distro. Not that I'm any kind of Linux specialist.
User avatar
J. Baker
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by J. Baker » Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:48 am

Thanks guys! I just switched back to the 32bit version. In the 64bit version the libraries are in "/usr/lib64/" and I didn't know how to modify it to make it would work. All works great now. Oh, and the lastest beta from ubuntu works great so far (8.04). ;)
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7139
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by synthsin75 » Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:40 am

Rhoel wrote:
synthsin75 wrote:I just noticed that the new version is missing the default swatch PNG. You can always copy or rename one as 'default.png'.
It's there on my Windows version.
Oops, yeah I installed it to a different location so I wouldn't lose 5.5. It would have probably been there if I had overwriten 5.5, uh?

I may be the only one who can imagine still finding the old texture behavior useful in some instances. :roll:
Genete
Posts: 3483
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: España / Spain

Post by Genete » Sun Mar 30, 2008 8:57 am

I may be the only one who can imagine still finding the old texture behavior useful in some instances. :roll:
You're not the only one.
User avatar
cribble
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:42 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by cribble » Sun Mar 30, 2008 3:57 pm

cribble's comment: WOOOO.

That is all. Bye.
--Scott
cribble.net
User avatar
Gnaws
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Post by Gnaws » Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:05 pm

Manu wrote:This is what I found after 10 minutes of digging around on the Micro Smith website:
THANKS, Manu!!
ulrik
Posts: 1073
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Contact:

Post by ulrik » Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:48 pm

Thank you Rhoel for explaining the texture features! :D
User avatar
Rhoel
Posts: 844
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:09 am
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contact:

Post by Rhoel » Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:36 am

ulrik wrote:Thank you Rhoel for explaining the texture features! :D
No problem - I was working on a demo of how to make anime eyes then this broke ... now have to go back and re-think/re-make the demo; effectively, the transparency (which I never got to work right before) gives us an extra layer of effects to play with.

Rhoel
donnie
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 11:53 pm

Post by donnie » Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:12 am

Animatable Layer Ordering = Sanity Saver. Thanks Mike!!!

Good to see you pop up on the forum again too!!
User avatar
tonym
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 4:23 pm
Location: Missouri

Post by tonym » Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:02 pm

Manu wrote:This is what I found after 10 minutes of digging around on the Micro Smith website:

Anime Studio Pro 5.6 update (200 MB)

Anime Studio 5.6 update (20 MB)
Thanks, Manu! I was afraid installation was going to be a hassle, but it was a piece of cake. I downloaded the application into a new folder and then typed in my serial number the first time I opened it. No trouble at all. Yay!
Post Reply