Timeline confusions NOW WITH DEMO GIF

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Timeline confusions NOW WITH DEMO GIF

Postby Jkoseattle » Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:00 pm

I am re-learning Moho after about a year off. It's coming back quickly, but there are a few things I have forgotten how I managed them. I'm particularly having trouble with the Timeline.

1. I don't recall having to click on and off the individual layers I want displayed in the Timeline, but that's what I'm seemingly having to do now. And if I select to display a group, all the layers within that group do not also get selected in the Timeline. I tried selecting layers and clicking, shift-clicking, all the usual ideas, but no matter what, it seems like I can only toggle layers to display one at a time. Really? I think I would have remembered adjusting Timeline displays being such a pain, so I'm thinking there are some shortcuts I've forgotten. Yes?

2. I'm trying to make a Smart Bone Dial, and so I select the bone and choose the option from the Bone menu. I get the blue timeline for the smart bone, but then I'm seeing Mainline keyframes in there as well. not only that, but keyframes that are part of the bone dial's actions do NOT display unless I click on them. There seems to be no intelligrance as to which layers display in Action timelines, it is purely going by what's checked in the layers palette. Why is that?

3. While this isn't technically a Timeline issue, I also find that often I will select a bone layer, choose the Mainpulate Bone tool, but cannot actually manipulate the bone, but only transform it (thus creating unwanted keyframes as well). Something's amiss here.
Last edited by Jkoseattle on Sat Dec 30, 2017 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Most of the time I'm doing music stuff. Check me out at http://www.jimofseattle.com/music.

Here is my first and so far only Moho video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBEsOZF9Ogg
Jkoseattle
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:39 pm

Re: Timeline confusions

Postby synthsin75 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:09 pm

1. If you have any layer checked for timeline visibility, it will only the show the checked layer(s) and last selected layer. If you uncheck all timeline visibility, selecting multiple layers will show in the timeline.

2. Yes, timeline visibility is independent. What you set is shown until you uncheck it.

3. If an action controls a bone, you will not be able to manipulate it.
- Wes
Image
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Timeline confusions

Postby Jkoseattle » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:26 am

Thanks for your help, that clears it up a bit.
Most of the time I'm doing music stuff. Check me out at http://www.jimofseattle.com/music.

Here is my first and so far only Moho video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBEsOZF9Ogg
Jkoseattle
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:39 pm

Re: Timeline confusions WITH DEMO GIF

Postby Jkoseattle » Sat Dec 30, 2017 4:47 pm

synthsin75 wrote:1. If you have any layer checked for timeline visibility, it will only the show the checked layer(s) and last selected layer. If you uncheck all timeline visibility, selecting multiple layers will show in the timeline.


This is not my experience. Shift-clicking layers doesn't work even if every group is expanded, it only shows the layer I'm currently sitting on.

I want to quickly see if I've left any stray keyframes in a project. I am going to save it as a template and the timeline needs to be completely empty. How can I quickly see what if anything is still in the timeline?

Watch the GIF below. I have a group which contains an image and a text layer. Each layer has some keyframes in the timeline. If I shift-click the two layers, I do NOT see both layers in the timeline! Also, just because it's so frustrating, I also show how neither clicking or selecting a group shows anything beneath that group.
https://imgur.com/a/5vY9A
Most of the time I'm doing music stuff. Check me out at http://www.jimofseattle.com/music.

Here is my first and so far only Moho video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBEsOZF9Ogg
Jkoseattle
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:39 pm

Re: Timeline confusions NOW WITH DEMO GIF

Postby hayasidist » Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:49 pm

Jkoseattle wrote:I am going to save it as a template and the timeline needs to be completely empty.


if that's the actual problem then from the menu bar: Animation / Clear Animation / from document
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1846
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Timeline confusions WITH DEMO GIF

Postby synthsin75 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:08 pm

Jkoseattle wrote:Watch the GIF below. I have a group which contains an image and a text layer. Each layer has some keyframes in the timeline. If I shift-click the two layers, I do NOT see both layers in the timeline! Also, just because it's so frustrating, I also show how neither clicking or selecting a group shows anything beneath that group.
https://imgur.com/a/5vY9A


That looks like you have timeline visibility set for a layer without keyframes somewhere. If there's no keyframes to show, it won't show on the timeline, but it will still affect your ability to show multiple shift-selected layers. Group layers only show their own keyframes, not sublayer keyframes.
- Wes
Image
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma


Return to How Do I...?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Greenlaw and 1 guest