Don't we need quicktime to render w transparent BG?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
stealingfeathers
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 5:26 pm

Don't we need quicktime to render w transparent BG?

Post by stealingfeathers » Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:11 pm

Hello forum members!

I just learned this morning that it is strongly recommended we uninstall Quicktime from Windows machines because there is no longer support for Windows installation of Quicktime. We could be vulnerable to attacks. I only know of one way to render an Anime Studio animation w transparent BG and this seems to require that Quicktime is installed. RIght? What do I do now? Am I just flat out of luck?
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7217
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Don't we need quicktime to render w transparent BG?

Post by synthsin75 » Sat Apr 16, 2016 8:41 pm

The comment in this article (from its author) says that the vulnerability is in the Quicktime Player, not the codecs used by AS and other video encoding software. You can choose whether or not to install the player with the custom installation option. You should only need the Quicktime Essentials component. The Quicktime codec is also included in many standalone codec packs.

There are many free players that play Quicktime movie formats.
RichardU
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Don't we need quicktime to render w transparent BG?

Post by RichardU » Sun May 29, 2016 1:11 pm

You can also render to a series of PNG files which produces high quality output with alpha channel. Many video editors can import that format and render. MP4 or whatever you want.
Post Reply