Animating text attributes

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
JCook
Posts: 392
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Animating text attributes

Post by JCook » Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:45 pm

I'm using ASPro 11.0. I need to animate the color of text to go from one color to another, but it doesn't seem to work. I've made a text layer and entered the text, chosen a color, size, etc. Also on the General tab of the layer I checked "Allow animated layer effects," just in case. But I can't make the color change. Is this not possible?

thanks,
Jack
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5453
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Animating text attributes

Post by slowtiger » Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:27 pm

Tested in 8.2, works.
- Create Text
- Allow animated layer effects
- Fill tool (Q), click & create key in frame
- click in different frame and change colour.
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
hayasidist
Posts: 2179
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Animating text attributes

Post by hayasidist » Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:00 am

JCook wrote: .. I've made a text layer and entered the text, chosen a color, size, etc. ...
ah! ... no -- you need a vector layer.. right click the text layer in the layers list and "convert to vector" .. then what slowtiger has said will do what you want.

(for future - uncheck the "create text layer" box in the Text pop-up)
JCook
Posts: 392
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Re: Animating text attributes

Post by JCook » Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:24 pm

AH, thanks, guys. That's what I needed. Would be nice to be able to change the color in the Text layer dialog, though, but this is very good.

Jack
hayasidist
Posts: 2179
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Animating text attributes

Post by hayasidist » Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:20 am

ok - if the issue the point-heavy nature of the vector layer I can see why you'd want a text layer instead so ...

group - masking hide all
> vector layer with a simple rectangle covering the text: mask this layer
> text layer: add to mask

timeline: change the colour of the rectangle as per the info re the vector text..


building on that concept ...
you can also get cute this way with, say, multiple shapes in the vector layer; or multiple vector layers with different blend modes to give multi-coloured text; and/or use point colour;

and then you could animate any or all of: the position of the colour overlay(s), the fill colour, the point colour ...
JCook
Posts: 392
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Re: Animating text attributes

Post by JCook » Fri Aug 21, 2015 2:22 pm

Oh, this is brilliant! I like this a lot, and it works fine. Thanks for this great tip.

Now - another thing I want to do with a text layer if it's possible: I need to have a label showing years going by, so ideally I would like to animate the text in the text layer to change from, say, "1990" to "1995" etc. over a number of years. I can't seem to find a way to set a keyframe for the text so that it will change. Is this even possible using the text layer?

thanks,
Jack
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5453
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Animating text attributes

Post by slowtiger » Fri Aug 21, 2015 2:32 pm

Create each year in a separate text layer, then put them all into a switch layer.
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
JCook
Posts: 392
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:28 pm
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Re: Animating text attributes

Post by JCook » Fri Aug 21, 2015 2:54 pm

OK, that'll work. I hadn't thought of switch layers. Excellent. Thank you, Slowtiger.

Jack
hayasidist
Posts: 2179
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Animating text attributes

Post by hayasidist » Sat Aug 22, 2015 12:52 am

and ... if you wanted more of a roll-over, than a straight cut (which is what you'll get with a basic switch), try something like: in the 3 frames before the switch scale the switch layer from full to zero height, switch then in the next 3 frames reset to full height.. or rotate about x or ....
Post Reply