Layer Effects Problem

Have you come up with a good Moho trick? Need help solving an animation problem? Come on in.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
moon_man
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:17 pm

Layer Effects Problem

Post by moon_man » Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:55 am

Windows 10
Anime Studio 10.5. Pro

Hi guys :-)

maybe some of you are familiar with the layer effects toolbar in photoshop. I see a similar one in Anime Studio Pro (also named layer effects). The problem is, i dont see any preview of it when I do any changes. I looked through the options, tried selecting two layers at once... but cant find anything. any idea?

Greets
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5430
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Layer Effects Problem

Post by slowtiger » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:19 pm

You'll see them after rendering a frame or video.
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
moon_man
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:17 pm

Re: Layer Effects Problem

Post by moon_man » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:30 pm

Thanks, that helps.

but i cant edit it on the viewport options, right? e.g. getting more previews
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4536
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Layer Effects Problem

Post by Greenlaw » Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:51 pm

A few of the Layer Effects will preview in the Workspace, but most of them do not. To see everything, you'll need to make a render preview (ctrl-R) of the frame as Slow Tiger suggested.

If you use Style Effects on Shapes inside a layer, a few more Effects are visible in the Workspace and some can even be edited interactively using an on-screen widget (like, for example, Shaded, Gradient, and Image Texture.) But some Style Effects will still need to be rendered to see them. (Halo and Drop Shadow are some examples.)

Unfortunately, this is due to limitations in how Moho uses OpenGL. I know the devs are working on improving OpenGL support so hopefully this will get better in the future.

This is small consolation but, FWIW, most of the time you really don't need to see the effects when animating the project. I usually turn off most of the display options in the Workspace to improve rig and animation performance. As a matter of fact, disabling OpenGL accleration will actually improve how masking appears in the Workspace, which I find more practical than being able to see most any of the layer effects in the Workspace.

Hope this helps.
Last edited by Greenlaw on Tue Mar 26, 2019 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
moon_man
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:17 pm

Re: Layer Effects Problem

Post by moon_man » Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:05 pm

True that

ctrl R !!! thats a perfect solution. Before that I did a more complicated way, selecting the frames. putting the file in a chosen folder, then open it... but this solution is great! it gives you an immidiate result. exactly what i was looking for. :D thanks a lot
Post Reply