Noisy outlines are fantastic

Have you come up with a good Moho trick? Need help solving an animation problem? Come on in.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4883
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Noisy outlines are fantastic

Post by Víctor Paredes » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:05 pm

Hi, I have no time to explain this "technique" right now, but I want to share some advances.
I was working in a project with psd files and bones, everything normal. But in a scene a character should move from one pose to another and there was no way to make it only with psd. So I decided to use vectors, emulating the sketchy style.
I had problems with the hatched parts and this involved a lot of lines, making it a nightmare to animate them. Then I realized the noisy outlines could help.
The idea is simple, instead of drawing and animating 18 lines, I drew 3 and multiply them via noisy outlines (on vector layer proprieties). It worked fantastically and made the animation very easy, moving a couple lines you can move an entire hatched part.

The final result was very close to the original psd picture.
Image
Image
Last edited by Víctor Paredes on Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigger and animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
jahnocli
Posts: 3344
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: UK

Post by jahnocli » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:29 pm

What a cool idea...
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
User avatar
GCharb
Posts: 2202
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:31 am
Location: Saint-Donat, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by GCharb » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:31 pm

Nifty, thanks for sharing!
Genete
Posts: 3483
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: España / Spain

Post by Genete » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:33 pm

Wizard! you're a wizard!
-G
User avatar
neeters_guy
Posts: 1560
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:33 pm
Contact:

Post by neeters_guy » Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:54 pm

Agree, that's fantastic.
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5405
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger » Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:13 pm

My first reaction: WOW!

This is just great. *bows*
SvenFoster
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 10:50 am
Location: stephen.foster.uk(skype)

Post by SvenFoster » Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:15 pm

woaaahhh. some of it I can see the use of the noisy lines but others I'm thinking how the *** did he do that?

i guess thats what the developers had in mind when they did the noisy line option

awsome as ever
--Sven
What *if* the Hokey cokey *is* what its all about?
ulrik
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Contact:

Post by ulrik » Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:52 pm

Fantastic Selgin, you're a magician! :shock:
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4883
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:45 pm

:D
Thanks for the nice comments, guys, I didn't expected this kind of reaction.
I just uploaded the original image to the first post, so you can compare them with the final result. I know there are many differences, but the overall look is not bad.
Blend morph helped a lot to make the movement easier. Actually, thanks to the rig, the actual animation took no more than one hour.
Sadly I can't share the anme file yet, so if anyone have any question about it, just ask.
I'm very excited, this could open a big door for a kind of animation which seemed to be very difficult to do in AS.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigger and animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
NeedyN00b
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:24 pm
Contact:

Post by NeedyN00b » Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:47 am

What values did you use for your noise settings?
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4883
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:15 pm

NeedyN00b wrote:What values did you use for your noise settings?
Around this:
Image
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigger and animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
DocZagreus
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:13 am

Post by DocZagreus » Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:45 pm

Noisy uotlines are amazing, indeed, but is there a way to modify an animated noise speed?
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3932
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Post by chucky » Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:37 am

That's a feature people have been begging for, unfortunately no, but you could reduce the overall frame rate I guess, that 's what I end up doing more often than not. Animating vectors on 2's and more can take the 'video' look out of the work anyway, one's can look a little too slick sometimes.

BTW Selgin, bloody great :!:
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
User avatar
SpaceBoy64
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Columbus
Contact:

Post by SpaceBoy64 » Sun Mar 25, 2012 2:45 pm

That's very nice work! Thanks for all the hints and tips.
Good idea using noisy outlines as hatch shading. I see how you didn't click the animated noise setting. Your keyframe animation makes it move nicely.

I used noisy outlines on a project of mine in 2010 that was supposed to look hand drawn frame by frame. I used just enough animated noise to make each frame slightly different. I had to experiment with it to get it to look just right. I used a small offset, and medium scale, with 1 line.

Image

The editor took it upon himself to add fields in After Effects which I think was unnecessary.
delongeorama
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:01 pm

Re: Noisy outlines are fantastic

Post by delongeorama » Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:17 pm

Awesome... Please make a tutorial for this! :D
Post Reply