Slow Rendering, what have I done?

Have you come up with a good Moho trick? Need help solving an animation problem? Come on in.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
hien.henryn@gmail.com
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:40 am

Slow Rendering, what have I done?

Post by hien.henryn@gmail.com » Tue May 11, 2010 11:40 pm

Hi,
I have Dell 3000, Intel P4, 1GHz, and plenty of free disk space (300GB)
For 2 minute-anim, it took 10hrs for 640x480/ 0%Cinepack Compression/no raster images and fancy effects.
Is it common for everybody OR have I done something wrong with the setting?
I have tried to reset to 320x240, and use VirtualDub to resize to 640x480, it was faster, but horrible display.

What else(s) do I need to do to improve this?
Pls don't tell me buying a new computer. All my money went out
to Bush's campaign already.

I just upgarded my Windows XP2 to XP3 and noticed this is getting even slower.

THANKS
User avatar
Imago
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Sardinia

Post by Imago » Wed May 12, 2010 10:21 am

Try to split the animation in several piece and render one by one.
Two minutes of animation are so BIG! How many frames is it?
Sorry for my bad english... Q_Q
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5405
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger » Wed May 12, 2010 12:24 pm

2880 frames. Even in HD I'd expect rendering time to be under 2 hours.

Rendering time always depends on the complexity of the content. Particle effects? Numerous levels? Thousands of points?
hien.henryn@gmail.com
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:40 am

Post by hien.henryn@gmail.com » Wed May 12, 2010 5:59 pm

Tiger,
I would like to know your Rendering setting and your computer spec.
if you don't mind.
2hrs for HD is a dream for me.

Last night I rendered the same file, it took 8hrs to complete just 20%.
My anim has no particle effect at all. All vectors and simple moves.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4883
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Wed May 12, 2010 6:36 pm

maybe if you could share your anme file we could help you better.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigger and animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by sbtamu » Wed May 12, 2010 6:58 pm

I had something like this happen to me on WMM before. Was a 2 min AVI and estimated time was 20 Plus hrs so i canceled it and decided to cut it in half and it took 7 min for each of the 2 mins.
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
tinnycan
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 5:46 pm

Post by tinnycan » Thu May 13, 2010 1:59 am

Cinepack is horrible. Rendering anything in AVI that isn't Xvid/Mp* or H26* is not a good idea. Do yourself a favor and install quicktime or render frames. That should solve your problem or at least cut the render time down several hours.

Also, how many groups, duplicates, layers are you using?
hien.henryn@gmail.com
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:40 am

Post by hien.henryn@gmail.com » Mon May 17, 2010 7:23 pm

I learned 2 things from this post:
1) Cut file into smaller files
2) Use codec relates to Xvid

THANKS
User avatar
GCharb
Posts: 2202
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:31 am
Location: Saint-Donat, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by GCharb » Mon May 17, 2010 8:00 pm

XVID compresses video alot, which gives bad image quality, especially if you wanna had fx in composition then recompress.

Render to frames, either png or tga are good choices, then compress to video.

One I like alot is QT Animation codec, sort of uncompressed and rather fast!

G
User avatar
Mikdog
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Post by Mikdog » Mon May 17, 2010 10:35 pm

Sounds horrible.

I'd suggest rendering to PNG codec, I remember something about changing the render to start from frame 0 to 1 or vice-versa seemed to help...
Post Reply