not much of a cartoonist

Have you come up with a good Moho trick? Need help solving an animation problem? Come on in.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

kyeetycat

not much of a cartoonist

Post by kyeetycat »

I'm fairly new to animation. I'm not sure if anyone else has had a problem like this before. If I want to draw realism or even photorealism, I'm great at it. Then when I try my hand at cartooning, I fail. Big time. Is that common? For some odd reason, smooth and simple lines just don't come natural to me and I just can't comprehend some of the shading techniques used on cartoons. I know making good quality cartoons is NOT easy, but every character I try to draw just comes out hideous. haha! I love animation and I really want to learn. How do I make a transition from realism to drawing cartoons?
=^.^=
super8mm

Post by super8mm »

Cartooning requires an artist to make many desisions on modifing what is seen into what best represents what is seen. Basically that is what a cartoon is, a symbol not a visual representation of what is seen.

Cartoonist makes many modifications of reality in order to do 3 things, emphasis, visual flow, and iconic representation.

A super hero guy with a chest that looks like two big squares in reality it's not like that but the artist decided to represent it that way for its meaning.

Square would represent toughness masculine features.
Squares are more pleasant to see than rounded semi trapezoidal musculature.

A cartoon girl with the waist the diameter of an apple so that the lines to the hip look very rounded. Totally unrealistic.
Smooth rounded shapes are feminine, soft.
Smooth rounded lines are pleasant for the eye to follow.

It takes many considerations to draw a cartoon, less lines in the art means that those lines contain more information thus cannot lack accuracy or it will stop being what it represents.