Don't duplicate layers

Have you come up with a good Moho trick? Need help solving an animation problem? Come on in.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
salp42
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:35 pm

Don't duplicate layers

Post by salp42 » Mon Dec 28, 2009 7:16 pm

It's better to just copy the points and then paste them into the new layer. Because when you duplicate the layers the bones work differently.

Example: If you make a right arm and then duplicate that layer to use it for the left arm. When you do the bones the duplicated layer (the left arm) won't bend the right way. But if you copy and paste it will work

I don't know why this happens but it does. I'm glad i figured this out and i don't know if you guys already know about but i felt i should share this information.
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5488
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger » Mon Dec 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Not necessarily: see "release points" and "release layer" ind the Bones menu. If you do these first, you shouldn't have any problems.
salp42
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:35 pm

Post by salp42 » Mon Dec 28, 2009 7:34 pm

im glad you said that before i redid my character's leg
thank you
salp42
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:35 pm

Post by salp42 » Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:29 pm

i don't think the debut version has it though
Post Reply