Anime Studio Vs. Flash

A place to discuss non-Moho software for use in animation. Video editors, audio editors, 3D modelers, etc.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

kenmead

Anime Studio Vs. Flash

Post by kenmead »

I'm trying to determine a long-term solution for animating pre-rigged 2D characters like those offered for sale by Cartoon Solutions. All of their Anime Studio Characters begin in a Flash Format, and they have many more of those characters available in Flash than in Anime Studio.

I'm new to Anime Studio, and have never worked with Flash before (although I have used Swish). I absolutely love the Anime Studio interface, bone rigging, ease of use, etc. However, since I'm not an artist, I really need access to plenty of pre-rigged characters with mouth formations for phoneme lip-syncing, etc. I'm only seeing maybe 5-10 characters available for Anime Studio. So, I'm curious how difficult the Flash interface is to learn versus Anime Studio, and how professional the Flash animations might look in comparison to Anime Studio.

My output needs to be broadcast quality for a large projection screen in a children's theater. Thanks in advance for any input.
jahnocli

Post by jahnocli »

Well - a lot of topics there! I've used both Flash and Anime Studio for a while (back when it was Moho), so I'll give you my two pennies...

AS's bone system makes animating a LOT easier. There are plugins (extensions) which Flash can use (google for Ik'Motion, animSlider), but AS is a better system. On the other hand, the way AS uses sound files is poor (I think) for an animation program. Flash gives you much more flexibility.

I've got both programs. They can work well together (although there are some annoying glitches from time to time). If you can afford it, I'd recommend you get both. Then, from inside Flash, you can export .AI files of the Cartoon Solutions packages and import them into AS. They will then need a lot of tweaking, but that is one way to do it.