A newbie getting started...

A place to discuss non-Moho software for use in animation. Video editors, audio editors, 3D modelers, etc.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

medic5678

A newbie getting started...

Post by medic5678 »

Hey everyone. I'm probably the member with the dubious distinctions of both the least talent and the least knowledge. I'm trying to produce a few animated cartoons, and I'd like to work in 2d. I'm a student, and I have the student version of Toonboom animate pro as well as Anime Studio 10. I'm not worried as much about the quality of my animations, though I want to avoid weird looking distractions, such as a character walking but not going anywhere or talking with terrible lip sync. I looked at Crazytalkanimator 2, which has some appealing and easy to use features, but the program's development looks like it's been abandoned by Reallusion as glaring issues have not been addressed.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I realize this is a big undertaking, but I'm willing to put forth many hours. What's the easiest way to animate?
herbert123

Re: A newbie getting started...

Post by herbert123 »

The easiest way to animate is to... animate. I realize this sounds like a cop-out, but that is really all there is to it.

Animate, animate, animate. Keep doing it, and read as much (practical) animation theory you can. Get "the Animator's Survival Kit" by Richard Williams, read Preston Blair's book(s),

Richard William also did a complete course on animation, and that course is great as well.

Applications like Anime Studio and ToonBoom will help you in becoming more efficient and generally speed up your workflow, but doing good animation still takes a lot of effort and time.

Without knowing how to animate, and understanding the principles of timing, spacing, etc., you may have access to the most expensive animation software in the world, but it will not help at all to do proper looking animation.