Black Magic Fusion free version available

A place to discuss non-Moho software for use in animation. Video editors, audio editors, 3D modelers, etc.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

uddhava

Black Magic Fusion free version available

Post by uddhava »

Mistro

Re: Black Magic Fusion free version available

Post by Mistro »

This is almost surreal to have such a high end compositor for free. I downloaded it a couple days ago. I do plan on comping some 2d mixed with 3D animation in the near future and this tool is an early christmas gift.
Greenlaw

Post by Greenlaw »

Yeah, Fusion is awesome--I highly recommend it. When I was Senior Digital Artist with the Box for Rhythm and Hues, we used it exclusively for compositing as far back as version 3. I'm a freelancer now and I still use Fusion for work. Currently using 6.4 but hoping to upgrade to Fusion 7 Studio soon. (My maintenance lapsed a while ago so waiting to hear from Black Magic about what the upgrade costs.)

G,
Danimal

Post by Danimal »

It looks cool and for free it's obviously unbeatable. Holy guacamole is it complicated though! :shock: :?
~Danimal
Greenlaw

Post by Greenlaw »

It can be but it's not really.

At the most basic level, you load an image or sequence in a Loader node and you just connect them with Merge nodes (just drag a loader on top of another loader nodes and they will get 'merged' automatically.) At the end of the chain, you add a Saver node and enter our path. The cool thing is that you can add and reuse, modify, and branch of masks and effect nodes in far more efficient ways than you can in a layers based system like After Effects. It's also far more flexible in how it shows you the data. The best thing for me is that Fusion encourages experimentation and variations since anything you can do in Fusion is non-destructive and easily changed.