Which video and audio software should I use with Debut

A place to discuss non-Moho software for use in animation. Video editors, audio editors, 3D modelers, etc.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

bry72

Which video and audio software should I use with Debut

Post by bry72 »

I started another thread looking for help on choosing between Anime Studio Debut and Pro. Based on the comments and being a extreme beginner, I am going with Debut.

I now need some input regarding video editing and audio recording software to use in conjunction with Debut.

On the previous post, Sony Vegas, Ulead Videostudio and Magix were mentioned for video editing software. A recommendation was made for Mixcraft5 for audio software.

I am using Windows XP as my operating system. I am a complete beginner. I have never used animation software before, I have never used video editing software before and it has been close to 10 years since I have used audio recording software.

Here is what I'm looking for:

-Learning curve is not too steep. Obviously, a learning curve is going to be there for any new software but the easier the better. That means Sony Vegas is out.
-Under $100 for video editing software and under $75 for audio (or free, like Audacity)
-Something that is stable and won't consistently crash my computer
-Has a large selection of quality effects, transitions, etc.

I will be using the audio recording software for voice overs, sound effects and soundtracks. Magix, which was recommended, also has the capacity to create your own music with loops and a midi sequencer. This might be something I would experiment with in the future.

Video editing software will be used to stitch together the scenes, import the audio files and experiment with effects, zooms, pans, transitions, etc.