Upcoming update

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

User avatar
ingie01
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:01 pm
Location: Kingston, New York USA
Contact:

Post by ingie01 » Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:35 pm

Thank you Mike! So good to have a non-corporate ally.
You'll know when you get there! My Dad
User avatar
J. Baker
Posts: 1037
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by J. Baker » Sat Aug 11, 2007 12:49 pm

Does the path editing work with the camera too? These new features are awesome. :wink:
Samb
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:18 am
Location: Hamburg,Germany
Contact:

Post by Samb » Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:59 pm

oh my god, all of our dreamcs comes true :D

but two questions:
will be the depth sorting in particles improved?
sometimes, particle that are far away will be rendered infront of a near particle.

and second:
can we now select two bones and move them together around?
Yesterday, it was really wierd because I never tried to move to bones at the same time with the "move bones" tool. maybe because it's disabled when you select more than one bone :/
Genete
Posts: 3483
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: España / Spain

Post by Genete » Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:36 pm

Samb wrote:oh my god, all of our dreamcs comes true :D

but two questions:
will be the depth sorting in particles improved?
sometimes, particle that are far away will be rendered infront of a near particle.

and second:
can we now select two bones and move them together around?
Yesterday, it was really wierd because I never tried to move to bones at the same time with the "move bones" tool. maybe because it's disabled when you select more than one bone :/
Try to use translate points/bones tool from fazek's replacement tools. Look in Scripting forum under sticky.
-G
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5492
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger » Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:20 pm

can we now select two bones and move them together around?
I found that already working. I selected all bones in a layer (three, because it was just a leg) and used the Manipulate Bones tool (z). The bones kept their relative angles to each other - very interesting effect.
User avatar
mooncaine
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: atlanta, ga, usa

Post by mooncaine » Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:01 pm

Are you sure? I can't find a way to make that happen.

If I select more than one bone, the instant I click with the Manipulate Bones tool, only one bone is selected.

It may be that you are dragging the thigh bone, in your leg example. All the child bones move with it, keeping their relative angle... but I bet you knew that, so I'm wondering what's happening on your screen.

Puzzling.
-=-
MacBook Pro 17", 2.16Ghz, 2GB RAM, 5400rpm 120GB HD
ASP 5.5 updated August 2007
OSX 10.4.9
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5492
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger » Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:48 pm

My mistake. I just tried it again: selected all 3 bones in the layer via cmd-a, then used the rotate bones tool.
User avatar
mooncaine
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: atlanta, ga, usa

Post by mooncaine » Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:17 pm

Weird. I tried it, and it's definitely different, though I don't know how I'd describe it. It's like all their angles are changing the same amount, but they aren't remaining the same relative to each other... it's just... weird.

http://www.mooncaine.net/rec-ctr-trng-t ... moving.mov

In that clip, you can see me using Manipulate tool, then doing Select All and using Rotate Bone, then back to Manipulate. Is that what's happening for you?
-=-
MacBook Pro 17", 2.16Ghz, 2GB RAM, 5400rpm 120GB HD
ASP 5.5 updated August 2007
OSX 10.4.9
User avatar
J. Baker
Posts: 1037
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by J. Baker » Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:21 am

One thing I would like to see as well is for the actions window to open on start up with position and sized remembered. :D
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4951
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Sun Aug 12, 2007 3:16 am

thank you mike!, this features looks very useful. i have just one question about layer reordering.
can we move a layer which into a group outside of the group? in your sample, all layers was organized in groups and moved inside them, so no one hierarchy was broken.
blacksunproject
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:45 am

Wow!!!

Post by blacksunproject » Sun Aug 12, 2007 8:04 am

Bloody Hell!

When is this update available?
Is it free to Anime Studio 5.5pro users?

I await with great joy in my heart!!!

Gustavo
Farbklecks
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 7:50 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Farbklecks » Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:44 am

I wouldn't bet that the update is free.
It was generous to let old moho users get a free update to AS 5.5 Pro.

I hope the update will be under $100.- for AS Pro 5.5 users.
User avatar
AmigaMan
Posts: 1017
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 3:40 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by AmigaMan » Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:51 am

Mike says in his opening message that this update WILL be free. I agree, very generous if that is the case. These are some fantastic new features that take AS into another league altogether - especially the animateable layer ordering. Thanks Mike :D
blacksunproject
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:45 am

Post by blacksunproject » Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:51 pm

AmigaMan wrote:Mike says in his opening message that this update WILL be free. I agree, very generous if that is the case. These are some fantastic new features that take AS into another league altogether - especially the animateable layer ordering. Thanks Mike :D
That is great news!
I love this program!

Gustavo
Rudiger
Posts: 786
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 2:25 am

Post by Rudiger » Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:47 am

I think I'm starting to see why this upcoming update is getting such a lukewarm reception. It doesn't address some of the core issues users are currently having with Anime Studio.

For me it's the whole Catch-22 situation with layers and shapes. Say you want one shape to mask out another, or you want to animate the shape order. Currently, the only way you can do this is to start putting different shapes on different layers. For one thing you can only do that if the shapes don't share points with other shapes in the layer, and another, it now becomes virtually impossible to properly fine-tune the animation as you have to edit the timeline of each layer separately!

What I would like to see is for the next update to address some of the issues raised in the top ten feature request thread. I never expected the upcoming update to address these issues, as the thread was only started a few months ago, but there's no reason the next one couldn't. I mean imagine if everyone's top feature request got implemented. That would certainly get a huge response and would be an update worth paying for.
Post Reply