Import obj -Carrara

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

bupaje

Import obj -Carrara

Post by bupaje »

Are there any Carrara users here who have imported obj into MoHo succesfully? If so can you outline the steps for me? I read the threads here and tried but I get either a black skin, I tried switching the setting LM suggested in the 3D area (I'm not at home so forget the name now) and so on. I tried a shader that had bump, color, gloss maps etc and looks likethe map in the color channel was visible after I corrected the path in the mtl file but truthfully I am just randomly trying different settings as I am new to Carrara and MoHo.

I'd also like to know if I am limited to a single texture? Is there a way in Carrara to bake a texture as you do in 3DS Max?

If you do know how to do it and can spell out any of the steps in detail it would be very greatly appreciated.
Lost Marble
Site Admin

Post by Lost Marble »

I can't tell you anything about Carrara specifically, but Moho will only use the diffuse color texture maps from an OBJ file - you won't be able to import bump, gloss, etc.
bupaje

Post by bupaje »

@Lostmarble - Thanks. I'll give it a try this weekend and confirm. Saw that the shader I chose was an example that used many channels and think I may have just gotten confused expecting something different; there are a few settings in Carrara to flip stuff etc on export and I was just checking them all different ways since I wasn't sure. I'll use a shader with a map only in the diffuse channel and as soon as I get it I'll post the relevant settings here for future revference.
bupaje

Import obj - again

Post by bupaje »