Do Greykid pictures really use AS?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

uncarved

Do Greykid pictures really use AS?

Post by uncarved »

Hi to everyone,

I am new to animation and I am impressed with Anime Studio. I have looked at the 'Gallery' on the e frontier website and have marvelled at the clip of 'La Reine Soleil' animation feature. I looked on Greykid pictures website to get some clues as to how they used AS but there isn't any such information. So my question is how is such high quality produced? Do you need additional software? Would the drawing be done with some other package?

As a beginner I do not want to set my sights too high because I do not appreciate the limitations of the software, nor do I want to aim too low because I have not realised the full potential of AS. So I would appreciate some comments and ideas even if you don't know exactly how Greykid pictures produce such quality.

Thanks, Al
Rasheed

Post by Rasheed »

What I have understood from what little GreyKid has revealed on this forum that for the smooth animation (head turns and such) they use point animation--IOW: animation skill. They have very skilled animators that have learned how to use AS.
uncarved

Post by uncarved »

Hi Rasheed thanks for reply.

[/quote]they use point animation--IOW: animation skill.

point animation is the same as skill? or is this a particular technique?

I found a bit more info on Greykid : http://www.e-frontier.com/article/artic ... 032/1/813/
Rasheed

Post by Rasheed »

No, point animation is not the same as skill, but creating smooth animation with point animation involves a lot of skill. Meaning that you can't do good convincing point animation without sufficient skill in drawing and animating. So skill is a prerequisite for doing great point animation.
uncarved

Post by uncarved »