correct import process from illustrator?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

starchild

correct import process from illustrator?

Post by starchild »

hi everyone!
I'm not new to animation but I'm new to Anime Studio, so I've got one or two questions.

What I wanna do is simply scan my drawings,->make the 'tracing' on illustrator-> animate the drawings with Anime Studio.

Consider I'm saving the files in .ai format, ('Illustrator 8' compatible, by the way).

Then, when I import any of these drawing-now vector-files in AS, turns out that the final vector image is kinda "rounded", like it has been "traced" a lot of times, cause the lines are on the correct position, but kinda "deformed"...

I dunno if there's a better way to do what I'm trying to do here (simply animate scanned drawings), but I would really appreciate some help here.... I'm still a newbie :)
thanx in advance!
heyvern

Post by heyvern »

The math used to create the curves in AS and Illustrator are very different.

I don't know anything about... mathematical curve description stuff... others here no way more than me about that...

... but I am very familiar with the differences in how they work in each application.

Illustrator uses bezier curves... with... some kind of quad... curve.... point... thingy... whatever...

Anyway in Illustrator you have those handles that can move and stretch independently all over the place to define a precise curve.

AS doesn't do it that way. It uses some other type of math to define curves. The curve "handles" are locked together and are basically "invisible"... you can't manipulate them independently. You can basically increase the curve (fatter, rounder) or decrease the curve (thinner pointier).

Because of these differences you can't get a "perfect" translation from AI to AS. It is close but not perfect.