Moho 12 on macOS Catalina

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Gregg2g

Moho 12 on macOS Catalina

Post by Gregg2g »

I'm new to Moho and animation. I'm also retired and on a limited budget because of upcoming expenses for Christmas (All those kids and grandkids). I was wondering if anyone using Moho 12 Pro has upgraded to Mac OS Catalina and had any problems? I was thinking of buying it.
Another question would be, is the upgrade from Moho 12 Pro to Moho 13 Pro worth the money for most of you?
Thank you
alanthebox

Re: Moho 12 on macOS Catalina

Post by alanthebox »

Sorry, can't answer the Mac issue , but regarding the upgrade question, I haven't really noticed much of a change in my workflow after upgrading. I think 12.5 is still more than adequate. The bitmap brushes are cool, but not something I use often (I prefer a dedicatedpainting program like Krita over Moho's painting tools). I also don't import any 3d objects and my rigs aren't complicated enough to take advantage of the new actions panel. I think 12.5 still has plenty of mileage.
Gregg2g

Post by Gregg2g »

Thank you alanthebox.
Greenlaw

Post by Greenlaw »

Gregg2g wrote: Mon Oct 21, 2019 3:51 pm I'm new to Moho and animation...is the upgrade from Moho 12 Pro to Moho 13 Pro worth the money for most of you?
Hi Gregg,

I can't answer the Mac part of your post but I can offer some info that may help with your Moho 12 to Moho 13 upgrade decision.

The latest version of Moho 12 Pro has been a solid performer for me at work and play. I've used Moho 12 for a couple of years to create animation in several TV shows and in a few personal projects. (See the 2019 demo reel link in my sig for recent Moho 12 examples.) IMO, if you already own Moho 12 Pro, you have a strong animation program. Since you're on a budget, I recommend downloading and installing Krita. Krita is a free paint program that works well with Moho and it includes a basic FBF animation system too.