Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4875
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by Víctor Paredes » Wed Sep 11, 2019 11:22 am

It used to work like this:
- Select the keys in the motion graph
- hold alt
- drag up or down to scale

But sadly this it's not working anymore (for both 12 and 13). Has anyone a workaround for it?

Thank you very much
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7142
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by synthsin75 » Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:25 pm

Mouse wheel scroll to scale vertically, timeline buttons to scale horizontally. Same since v11.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4875
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by Víctor Paredes » Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:29 am

synthsin75 wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:25 pm
Mouse wheel scroll to scale vertically, timeline buttons to scale horizontally. Same since v11.
Ah, no. Thanks, but I'm not talking about zooming the timeline, but actually scaling the values of bunch of keyframes.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7142
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by synthsin75 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 10:54 pm

Víctor Paredes wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 9:29 am
synthsin75 wrote:
Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:25 pm
Mouse wheel scroll to scale vertically, timeline buttons to scale horizontally. Same since v11.
Ah, no. Thanks, but I'm not talking about zooming the timeline, but actually scaling the values of bunch of keyframes.
I'm not aware that that's ever existed in Moho.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4875
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by Víctor Paredes » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:09 am

No, it worked in a similar way to scale vectors. You could scale the keys vertically.
So, for instance, if you have a ball bouncing several times until stopping, you could scale the keys in order to make all the jumps proportionally higher or lower.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
hayasidist
Posts: 2139
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by hayasidist » Fri Sep 13, 2019 12:28 pm

Hi Victor -- is this what you're thinking of:

- layer translation x,y,z dimension keys visible in the motion graph
- select the keys you want
- grab one of the selected y-channel (green) keys
- mouse drag up / down (beware of the side to side potential movement!) to raise / lower

IOW leave the "ground" y keys alone and shift the "top of bounce"

(IIRC, 11 did not have split dimensions -- certainly in 12.5 that's available, so splitting dimensions and just selecting the y keys and raising / lowering works in 12.5)

But I don't recall the motion graph having the same "dilate / compress" as in the channels window along the timeline with alt-drag
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4875
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by Víctor Paredes » Fri Sep 13, 2019 2:16 pm

Thanks again, guys, but I really know what I'm talking about :wink:
I just found a video from Mike showing this feature added in version 9.5 (1:10):
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4440
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by Greenlaw » Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:26 pm

Hi Victor,

I just took a look at this and, yeah, I would have expected Alt-drag to work for scaling keyframes just like in the Timeline but no luck here. Did this work in ASP 11 and earlier?

Since the Motion Graph has keyframes that go in X and Y directions, I think Moho could benefit from a 'transform' box that we can enable for selected keyframes. This is what 3D and compositing programs I use have for editing multiple keyframes in a graph editor. I think I will file a request with the devs for this.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7142
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by synthsin75 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:43 pm

I'll be damned. I've used horizontal keyframe scaling in the timeline, but never used either in the motion graph. Didn't even know vertical scaling existed.

I just checked, and it still worked in v11.2.
hayasidist
Posts: 2139
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by hayasidist » Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:16 pm

synthsin75 wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:43 pm
I'll be damned. I've used horizontal keyframe scaling in the timeline, but never used either in the motion graph. Didn't even know vertical scaling existed.
that's two of us!!
User avatar
rafael
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:51 am
Location: Nomad
Contact:

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by rafael » Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:43 am

Scaling keyframes is very hit and miss for me. sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Using Moho Pro 12 (Build 22438).
Actually, it looks like I can get it to start scaling initially in the motion graph but it automatically snaps back to the initial position.
User avatar
Designspaceman
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 1:47 pm

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by Designspaceman » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:07 am

Hey Victor, just checked this out. I'm using 13.0.1 and it still works. Mark the keyframes, hold alt and drag the last one. Scales up and down...
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4440
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by Greenlaw » Mon Sep 16, 2019 2:59 pm

For me, in 13.0.1, the selected keys in the Motion Graph are not scaling. Alt-drag moves all the keys together. To test this, I created more than one keyframe, left frame 0 unselected, and dragged the first or last key. All the selected keys moved together at the same rate.. Vertical scaling doesn't work either: only one channel will move vertically and it's not scaling, just moving.

I hope they can implement a transform box for the Motion Graph. The way the selection box works in other programs is you can scale the selected keyframes in any of four directions by dragging the box edge, expand from center, or move them all together horizonally or vertically...just like using the Transform tool in the Workspace.

Edit: Actually, the Alt key has nothing to do with the above. It does that with or without Alt. For me, Alt just makes it more difficult to select and drag.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
User avatar
Designspaceman
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 1:47 pm

Re: Is scaling keyframes in motion graph not working?

Post by Designspaceman » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:51 pm

Hmmmm... just to be clear: I use ALT+mousedrag to scale the keyframes propotionally up or down (e.g. movement is right but too fast).
I made a short clip to demonstrate this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcnAHbn ... e=youtu.be
Post Reply