Suggestions for how to get a cartoon released on tv etc.

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

Tsongo

Suggestions for how to get a cartoon released on tv etc.

Post by Tsongo »

Hello,

I've been making an animated film for just over two years and now it's nearing completion but I suspect that might've been the best part !

In my innocence as to how these things work I looked up tv companies to see what they looked for but it seems that they only talk to agents that have approved work to show them.

So I looked at agents and how to go about this sort of thing and from what I could gather they're far more interested in ideas rather than complete films and give lots of information about how to pitch such an idea or make storyboards which would then be taken to a tv station that would pass it on to an animation studio. There was no mention on completed works in any of their submissions criteria and on some of their websites it seemed that animation qualifications and experience in the industry ( I have none ) were more important than what you've actually done.

I looked at competitions and they seemed to be looking for short animations which my film isn't as it's thirty five minutes long. Also I discovered to my horror that by putting anything on You Tube or something like that will mean giving away rights to it and I really can't do that.

So if anybody out there has any ideas about how to go about this sort of thing or feels like having a rant or telling a story about what happened to their creations please let me know as I really haven't got a clue where to start.

Thank you.

ps. I'm in the UK if that makes any difference.
slowtiger

Re: Suggestions for how to get a cartoon released on tv etc.

Post by slowtiger »

Welcome to the club. Has happened to many of us.