vector layer icon

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
Gnaws
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

vector layer icon

Post by Gnaws » Mon Jan 07, 2019 4:38 am

This layer icon appeared as I was breaking out layers from AI to Moho....

https://ibb.co/Jx4F6cW

What does that mean?
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7156
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: vector layer icon

Post by synthsin75 » Mon Jan 07, 2019 5:02 am

It means the layer is only composed of triangles, so it's a triangulated layer that can be used as a smart warp mesh.
User avatar
Gnaws
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: vector layer icon

Post by Gnaws » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:19 pm

synthsin75 wrote:It means the layer is only composed of triangles, so it's a triangulated layer that can be used as a smart warp mesh.
Wow. That was not supposed to happened.

How do you triangulate a layer?
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7156
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: vector layer icon

Post by synthsin75 » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:54 pm

Gnaws wrote:
synthsin75 wrote:It means the layer is only composed of triangles, so it's a triangulated layer that can be used as a smart warp mesh.
Wow. That was not supposed to happened.

How do you triangulate a layer?
You can triangulate a layer using Draw>Triangulate 2D Mesh, but if a layer just happens to only have filled triangles, Moho will show it as triangulated too. It's no different from a regular vector layer. Just means you could use it as a smart warp mesh. If the icon annoys you, you can just add a little filled square or circle somewhere way outside the camera view.
User avatar
Gnaws
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: vector layer icon

Post by Gnaws » Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:02 pm

Odd that only that layer came out looking like that. I must have accidentally hit the hot key for triangulate...assuming there is one?
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7156
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: vector layer icon

Post by synthsin75 » Mon Jan 07, 2019 10:30 pm

Gnaws wrote:Odd that only that layer came out looking like that. I must have accidentally hit the hot key for triangulate...assuming there is one?
No, it probably only has three-point filled shapes. That's all it takes.

There is no default hotkey for triangulate.
User avatar
Gnaws
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: vector layer icon

Post by Gnaws » Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:21 pm

synthsin75 wrote:
Gnaws wrote:Odd that only that layer came out looking like that. I must have accidentally hit the hot key for triangulate...assuming there is one?
No, it probably only has three-point filled shapes. That's all it takes.

There is no default hotkey for triangulate.
Ooooooh gotcha. That makes sense in regards to this particular vector shape.

Thanks, Wes
Post Reply