pro 12 or debut

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

lilithai

pro 12 or debut

Post by lilithai »

i don't what program to get. do you think it's to hard to start with pro 12? should i just use debut? is the a basic setting in pro? ( i have never used animation software before but i do use photo shop)
jahnocli

Re: pro 12 or debut

Post by jahnocli »

There are 30 day trial periods for both versions of the software. If I was just starting out I'd get Debut (you can always upgrade later on if you feel the need). I think there;'s a comparison chart somewhere on the Smith Micro site if you want to check for deal breakers. Good luck whatever you decide!
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
Greenlaw

Post by Greenlaw »

That's hard to say. Since you mention that you have no previous animation experience, I think it depends on what you want to do with animation and how far you're willing to go with it.

Moho Debut is pretty cheap, and it has everything you need to do some fun stuff. You can probably learn it quickly, but the features are limited if you want to go beyond basic puppet animation techniques. By no means do I mean you can't create quality work with Debut, but it will be relatively 'simple' work compared to what is possible with Moho Pro. That said, I believe simple animations can be very appealing if the stories and characters are engaging. And if you don't have a lot of time and or a big budget, there's a lot of merit in keeping your designs and animations 'simple'.

Moho Pro is a bit more expensive than Debut, but it packs a lot of advanced features that can take your animation to a more sophisticated level. With Pro it's possible to create and animate puppet rigs to approach the look of FBF animations, but easier to animate and re-animate than it would with traditional FBF techniques. If your technical ambitions are higher, and you don't mind having a lot more stuff to learn, Pro is a good choice.