Moho 12.4 Update

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby Greenlaw » Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:35 pm

Oh, ok. I never use the Switch Selection window (reasons explained in an older thread*) but I'm trying it now and it seems to be working without crashing.

*(I"ll have to revisit this tool and see if the problems I had with it in the past are still present.)

FYI, I prefer to control my Switch Layers with an SBD. This way the keyframes stay with the Bones layer along with all the other animation. If you set frame 1 inside the Switch's Action to be Linear, and frame zero to Step, the SBD switches non-linearly in the Mainline, and this 'single layer' setup is a lot easier to align the rest of the character animation with the lipsync. (Well, for me, anyway. Of course, if you prefer to keyframe the Switches directly, enabling Timeline Visibility for each Switch lets you have all keyframes present along with the Bones keyframes. But this does take up more space in the Timeline, and the large Switch Select window itself adds to desktop clutter.) Naturally, you should have Copy Previous Key enabled so you don't have to keep switching Interpolation modes.

BTW, one thing I've been doing lately is adding non-rendering Note labels for all viseme mouth shapes...this helps me run through the lipsyncing process very quickly. It's kinda like having the visible text label from Switch Select, but right inside the Workspace. (I typically label only the viseme drawings in the switch; other 'expressive' shapes are usually obvious.) This is a little more effort to set up but I and the other artists I work with prefer it.

Another lipsynching trick I like is to Ctrl-Alt-Right Click over the character's mouth region (or any Switch region in the Workspace). This causes a list of switches to appear near where you clicked, which can be a fast way to select mouth shapes without moving away from the rig. However, if you have large 'invisible' shapes in front of the switch, it can block you from the clicking the drawing's 'hot spot'. (This is the why we stopped using this method, but Ctrl-Alt-Right Click is still useful in simpler character setups. I still use it for quick 'one-offs' where I don't need to build a full rig.)
Last edited by Greenlaw on Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 3806
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby Telemacus » Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:33 am

Wow, thanks DR for sharing your experience with Switch layers!
Really neat tricks (the note labels + Cntrl+Alt+right).
I'd recently seen Chad's tutorial on Lip Syncing with Switch Selector: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=54kQVVuey1M&t=25s, but obviously there are other alternatives.
Telemacus
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:15 pm
Location: OZ_ually.

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby Greenlaw » Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:40 pm

Yes, I can think of a few other methods I didn't even go into. All of the ones mentioned so far are probably the most commonly used though. :)

Not all methods work equally well for every character though. The best method is whatever is easiest and produces the right look for a given project.
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 3806
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby troypicou » Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:59 pm

Anyone having issues with onion skin not working with the update?
User avatar
troypicou
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby synthsin75 » Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:49 pm

troypicou wrote:Anyone having issues with onion skin not working with the update?


Works here. Do you have the "draw behind" option disabled?
- Wes
ImageImageImage
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6673
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby troypicou » Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:32 pm

synthsin75 wrote:
troypicou wrote:Anyone having issues with onion skin not working with the update?


Works here. Do you have the "draw behind" option disabled?


Thanks, I unchecked it and now it works. :D
User avatar
troypicou
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby Greenlaw » Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:34 pm

Works here. What problem are you seeing with it?

Try what Wes said. if the options are greyed out, make sure you enable it first by clicking the circle.

Also, when working with vectors, I often prefer to use Outlines Only. I find it easier to distinguish the past/future shapes this way. (Naturally, this is meaningless in a bitmap rig.)

Edit: just saw your post. Glad you got it figured out. :)
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 3806
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby troypicou » Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:36 pm

Thanks for the reply!
User avatar
troypicou
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby tut » Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:31 pm

Any word on getting this update to work on Mac OSX 10.9.5? Very anxious to get some of these fixes in place. Thanks for any information.
tut
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:52 pm

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby João Miguel Real » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:35 pm

HI,

im having the same problem with the update, Moho crashes every-time i update.....

Waiting on a solution here...
User avatar
João Miguel Real
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby NicoGZ » Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:47 pm

Hi. I'm sorry for repeating myself, but perhaps the guys from Smith Micro will be more likely to notice it here.

The darnest thing happened after i updated moho 12 to its last version. I had a rig working fine, but now the arm bending smart action does not work right. It gets deformed. Nothing that can't be solved by manually fixing the smart action, but the problem is I have to share the character with 3 coworkers that dont have the update, and here's what happens: the normal version of the rig doesn't deform like in my pc, but the version I manually fixed deforms in theirs. So we have to have 2 versions of the character, which will be a problem when we have to add any improvements, new hands, change an action, etc. Help!
NicoGZ
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:37 am

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby Greenlaw » Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:58 pm

That sounds really odd. How far apart are the versions of Moho? Is possible for you all to work with the same version?

If everybody is on some version of 12, it doesn't seem like there should be a problem unless the rig uses specific features not available in the earlier one (like, for example, group interpolation,) but maybe it will help. Between 12 and earlier releases Moho/ASP, compatibility problems will be more likely to occur.

Hope you get this figured out. :(
Last edited by Greenlaw on Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 3806
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby NicoGZ » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:21 pm

Hello. We all use Moho 12. Mine is up to date with the fixes and patches, theirs is not. We work freelance so i cannot know why they cannot upgrade theirs (perhaps pirated versions, idk). It makes absolutely no sense, it's only the arms, both of them, that break. All other actions (legs, head turn, etc) work fine in my pc and theirs. So we thought "perhaps it has to do with how the arms were rigged" and erased the arm bones, erased the arm vector layers, erased all arm related smart actions. I built new bones, with new names, and created the arms again from zero. And... it still breaks. Same with my pc if they make new arms and give the rig to me.
NicoGZ
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:37 am

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby exile » Wed Mar 07, 2018 12:39 pm

NicoGZ wrote:Hello. We all use Moho 12. Mine is up to date with the fixes and patches, theirs is not. We work freelance so i cannot know why they cannot upgrade theirs (perhaps pirated versions, idk). It makes absolutely no sense, it's only the arms, both of them, that break. All other actions (legs, head turn, etc) work fine in my pc and theirs. So we thought "perhaps it has to do with how the arms were rigged" and erased the arm bones, erased the arm vector layers, erased all arm related smart actions. I built new bones, with new names, and created the arms again from zero. And... it still breaks. Same with my pc if they make new arms and give the rig to me.


You don't really expect Smith Micro to help if your partners are using pirated versions?
***********************
Steve

***********************
http://www.youtube.com/user/toonlyrics
Music Website: http://www.singadream.com
User avatar
exile
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Moho 12.4 Update

Postby shift » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:19 am

I am having this same issue. I have Moho 12.4 and onion skin is enabled but there is no shadowed image.
User avatar
shift
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:40 am
Location: Jamaica

PreviousNext

Return to General Moho Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests