Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
Lychee
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:59 pm

Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by Lychee » Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:08 pm

Hi everyone

I was watching YouTube videos on the new Microsoft Surface Studio (a Cintiq like all in one computer), and I was surprised to see a character of Anime Studio in demo with the Surface Dial tool.
Does the Moho team worked in collaboration with Microsoft?

User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4958
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Re: Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by Víctor Paredes » Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:12 am

Yes. Moho is compatible with the new Surface Studio and its dial.
Here you can watch Mike showing Moho on it:
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigger and animator in Cartoon Saloon - 'Wolfwalkers' & 'My father's dragon'
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3937
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Re: Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by chucky » Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:37 am

OOh. That's sooo awesome. I want one of those.. NOW... must have ... money!! :D
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
dkwroot
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 6:56 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by dkwroot » Thu Oct 27, 2016 4:38 am

I can't wait to see how Wacom responds to this. They'll either have to up their game or lower their prices.
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4680
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by Greenlaw » Thu Oct 27, 2016 5:14 pm

Wow, that looks fantastic!

I had been saving my money in hopes of replacing my creaky old desktop computer next year but because of Moho+MSS+D, now I'm going to have to wait longer. Maybe a lot longer. Thanks Mike. :P
Last edited by Greenlaw on Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
HHGG
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 11:50 pm

Re: Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by HHGG » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:34 pm

Will it be possible to connect the Surface Studio as a drawing tablet via USB to a main computer
having installed Moho/Anime Studio only on the maincomputer?
So drawings are shown on the Surface Studio and also on the display on the main computer?
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4680
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by Greenlaw » Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:09 am

HHGG wrote:Will it be possible to connect the Surface Studio as a drawing tablet via USB to a main computer
having installed Moho/Anime Studio only on the maincomputer?
So drawings are shown on the Surface Studio and also on the display on the main computer?
Not sure why you would want to do that--the Surface Studio seems to be a reasonably powerful desktop computer by itself.

That said, I would be curious to know if a second monitor can be attached to the Studio. (Not that I have that much space on my desktop at home.)
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
obtusity
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:30 am

Re: Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by obtusity » Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:00 am

HHGG wrote:Will it be possible to connect the Surface Studio as a drawing tablet via USB to a main computer
having installed Moho/Anime Studio only on the maincomputer?
I don't know about over USB, but if you can connect them both to the same network (wired or wireless), you might be able to try 'pen remoting', see: http://surfaceproartist.com/blog/2016/1 ... intiq-lite

Although, as Greenlaw said, a better solution might be to install Moho on the Surface Studio instead of the other computer.
Last edited by obtusity on Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
obtusity
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:30 am

Re: Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by obtusity » Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:06 am

Greenlaw wrote:That said, I would be curious to know if a second monitor can be attached to the Studio. (Not that I have that much space on my desktop at home.)
Technical specifications show a mini DisplayPort socket so, in theory, yes, a side monitor for documentation/image reference/live media connection updating/tool panels/unrelated programs should be possible.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/surface ... tech-specs
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4680
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Moho work with new Microsoft Surface Studio and Dial ?

Post by Greenlaw » Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:47 am

Cool! Thanks for the info and link!

Realistically, I'll probably need something more expandable (and probably a bit cheaper,) but I'm going to keep an eye on this. :)
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
Post Reply