Moho Pro 12 randomly deactivated

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
ianmage1
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 5:16 am

Moho Pro 12 randomly deactivated

Post by ianmage1 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 7:32 am

Hi everyone,

I've had Moho Pro 12 on my single machine for about as long as it's been out, and I haven't had any technical issues with the program itself; however, just now, when I opened Moho Pro 12, it ran in demo mode (15 days remaining - with the Debut version), asking me for my serial number, even though I had already activated the pro version (physical copy) as soon as I received it weeks ago. This certainly isn't a big deal for me at the moment--all I have to do is re-enter the serial number (and actually write it down) as soon as I get back home to my physical copy--but it still bothers me that the software could work just as I would like it to on a given day, and get randomly deactivated the next day. I never had this issue with any of my previous Smith Micro purchases.

For the time being, I'd just like to know... is this not unusual? Has anyone else had this problem before, or know what could cause it?

Thanks,
-IanMage
YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/ianmage1
Majoring in computer science doesn't leave much time for animation...
User avatar
drumlug13
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 9:16 pm
Location: Beautiful St. Louis, MO

Re: Moho Pro 12 randomly deactivated

Post by drumlug13 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 1:26 pm

I'm guessing there's more than one reason that this could happen. My AS11 just did this last week after I was dealing with some PC problems. I had to do a computer restore and then I added some new anti-virus software. When everything was up and running again I had to re-enter my serial number again too.
User avatar
exile
Posts: 351
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:25 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Moho Pro 12 randomly deactivated

Post by exile » Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:14 pm

I'm also an 11.2 Pro version user. After upgrading to Windows 10 on both computers I got a message that I had the software installed on too many computers. I contacted SM and they took care of it very quickly - on a Sunday!
I'm not sure if a change of operating systems is the same as "random" deactivation. Hope what you experienced is not a new "feature" of Version 12.
***********************
Steve

***********************
http://www.youtube.com/user/toonlyrics
Music Website: http://www.singadream.com
User avatar
Greenlaw
Posts: 4651
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Moho Pro 12 randomly deactivated

Post by Greenlaw » Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:44 pm

I recall losing an activation when I switched from Win 8 to 10 on my tablet. They reset my activations for me right away when I asked about this. After the reset, I think I had to re-enter the serial numbers on the two computers where I typically used ASP.

Nowadays, I believe you can reset the activations yourself through the online License Manager but I haven't tried that myself yet.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Little Green Dog Channel on Vimeo | Greenlaw's Demo Reel 2019 Edtion
Lead Digital Animator, Dreamworks Animation

Image
Post Reply