Drawing straight lines.

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

toymaker1

Drawing straight lines.

Post by toymaker1 »

Hello
As an animation beginner, I am comparing different 2D animation programs, to see which one would suit what I want to do. Anime Studio Pro 11 seems to be very good. But there is one thing I have noticed which really surprises, and disapoints me. It seems that it is not possible to draw a straight line when using the freehand drawing tool. This is a normal feature in other programs , e.g. Photoshop, Illustrator, Corel Painter, Flash, Toon Boom Harmony Etc. Where possible, I draw freehand with a Wacom pen, because I don't like the mechanical look of Illustrator type vector designs, so the ability to draw a straight line simply by pressing the shift key is a fundamental requirement that I have got used to in other digital art programs. I am amazed that Smith micro don't consider such a drawing feature to be important.
So far, that is the only thing I don't like in Anime Studio Pro. To me it is a very important feature for drawing a design which combines freehand curves and straight lines. I hope that the next version of Anime Studio Pro will have this feature.

Regards.
jahnocli

Re: Drawing straight lines.

Post by jahnocli »

This shouldn't be a dealbreaker. If you highlight any two points on a freehand line, and press Ctrl-P, you've got a straight line. It's just a question of doing things slightly differently.
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
hayasidist

Post by hayasidist »

or you may find the higher values of freehand "smoothing" will help.