Realistic drawing help with cartoon (anime) drawing?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

r0ck656

Realistic drawing help with cartoon (anime) drawing?

Post by r0ck656 »

Well, I've been drawing almost all my life. I'm no expert but with the proper resources I can easily become an expert. The question is, how should I approach my artistic unskillfulness in order to be a good cartoon (anime) artist? When I say anime artist, I don't mean that I want to work in the anime industry; I mean that I want to learn the style so that I can incorporate it in my future animations. In other words, I don't want to draw the traditional, American, cartoony style. By the way, landscapes are also my weakness.

Additionally, I'm no good at drawing from my mind. I have to look at something to render a sketch that resembles the thing I'm drawing. I also don't have much practice. The next question, should I first practice drawing real-life things before I can advance to drawing with my imagination?
r0ck656

Post by r0ck656 »

One last thing, when applying colors to my drawings, I can't just go crazy and select any color. I have to set up a color scheme to color my drawings with?
Lost Marble
Site Admin

Post by Lost Marble »

Regarding colors - you can use any color you wish - just click the Fill color swatch (it starts out as white when you first start up Moho) and pick whatever color you want.
Evil Sock Pupet

Post by Evil Sock Pupet »

you can always get a animie image and trace over it in moho. that worked for me once. It will make you understand the style of anime more.

you gotta study animie cartoon very carefully I think to get the style down if you notice carefully in some cartoons you will see the charectors have big bright eyes :D

good luck!!
solmax

Post by solmax »