Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
Easedale
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:11 pm

Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Easedale » Mon Jan 13, 2014 9:03 pm

I've done a little bit of animation in the past in Flash and AS Debut but am new to AS 9.5.

I've followed the help guides and several tutorials on smart bones but am getting strange behaviour.

I edit a smart bone movement (or two) but when I go back to the mainline and try to manipulate the limb for animation it's like it won't work smoothly any more.
It hardly responds to the manipulate bone tool and then will suddenly jerk into a new wierd position.

I can only animate the limb to do exactly the same movement as I edited in the smart bone set up and then by only moving the bone I edited as a smart bone. Moving anything else sends it crazy.

Am I missing something? Is this meant to behave like this, i.e. You edit a new smart bone for each different action?

Any help would be much appreciated.
Hutch
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:20 am

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Hutch » Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:36 pm

It is hard to know for sure from your description, but it sounds like possibly you are trying to animate layers that aren't children of the bone layer that the smart bone is in. Smart bones can only affect their descendant layers (or bones within the same bone layer) and when you try to affect other layers strange things happen.
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by sbtamu » Tue Jan 14, 2014 2:56 am

If you can share the anme file it would really speed up finding out what is wrong.
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
Easedale
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Easedale » Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:34 am

Thanks. I'm at work now. I'll post the file tonight.
Easedale
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Easedale » Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:15 pm

Sorry - I don't know how to post a file - can't find the option.

the tiny pic upload won't take an anme file.

Help please
Danimal
Posts: 1584
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:06 pm
Location: The Danimal Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Danimal » Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:25 pm

You'd generally use something like Dropbox and then post the link here.
~Danimal
Easedale
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Easedale » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:01 pm

Hope this works

https://www.dropbox.com/s/otm82ncyil3j3 ... 20Man.anme

This is the file I'm having problems with.
I used a smart bone on the left arm and it is now constrained and jerky. It seems to resist movement and then suddenly jerks to a different position.

I've tried experimenting with smart bones in other simpler files - just a rectangle and 3 bones - and get the same behaviour.

I'm sure I'm doing something wrong or just missing something but don't know what.

Any help will be much appreciated.
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by sbtamu » Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:09 pm

Take a look on how I used smart bones on B4, B4 2, B5, B5 2.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/xsbxbdxfn1h9t ... e.txt.anme
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
Easedale
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Easedale » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:13 pm

FANTASTIC!

I think I've got it now.

It's all about setting smart bones to the full extent of desired movement in both directions then?
Works for me.

Thanks so much for your time and support.
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by sbtamu » Thu Jan 16, 2014 11:10 pm

If you look close you can see I used point binding on all the points in the left arm. You can look at what points went to what bone for an example to do you right arm.

There is also some point animation in the left arm layer of that smart bone action.
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
Easedale
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Easedale » Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:03 am

Great. I think I've got that. Just been reading about point binding and tried it with the other arm
petes80
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:49 pm

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by petes80 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:15 pm

I think I'm having the same problem (I think!). I have just started playing about with smart bones and it's working pretty well for the motion the smart bone is created for. However, the other bones don't move with the action. To give you an example of this, I have a smart bone to turn the body to the left. The body turns great, however the bones for the arms stay where they were. Therefore if I try to move the arms, it all goes a bit wrong. Is this "point binding" the solution to have the bones follow the action so they stay in the correct place at all times?
Easedale
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Easedale » Sat Jan 18, 2014 8:26 am

I'm still new to manual point binding so a more experienced member of the forum could help you but it sounds like the arm bones have been un-parented.
Have you checked the parent/link structure for all your bones?
petes80
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:49 pm

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by petes80 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 4:38 pm

Ah, no, it was something much more fundamental...my complete ignorance of how to use the software properly haha! I created a good(ish) body turn but when moving the arms to follow the body, I did this by moving the arm layer position which left the arm bones behind. I have now figured out it's a million times easier to just move the bones (which are bound to the arm layers) and everything now works fine! Yes, that is how much of a newbie I am :)
Easedale
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 2:11 pm

Re: Smart bones - strange behaviour. Am I missing something?

Post by Easedale » Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:08 pm

Good on you! Enjoy.
Post Reply