Storyboard/Animatics

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

mickimac12

Storyboard/Animatics

Post by mickimac12 »

Hi everyone,
I'm new here and to animation - apart from a brief spell with Crazy Talk.
I'm about to start my animation journey using A.S.Pro and wanted to know what storyboard and animatics software I can use that also integrates into Anime Studio Pro?
Forgive my layman's language, but as I said I'm new to this, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, as most of my animation will be done using photographs, would I need both pieces of software or just one?

Like a lot of people, I'm looking for something that's not going to break the bank. so any suggestions on this could help me eliminate weeks searching the web for information (which by the way I have already done).

Many thanks for taking the time to read this.

mm12
:?
AmigaMan

Re: Storyboard/Animatics

Post by AmigaMan »

The best solution, I think, is to use any drawing software to create your storyboard images individually and save them to a folder named 'Storyboard'. They only need to be rough drawings, especially if it's only you working on your production.

Load these images one at a time into your video editing software and extend them on the timeline to roughly match the timing of each shot as you imagine it. Time them to your music track if you have one. Once you have your entire storyboard loaded in and the timings are to your liking and you think it flows nicely this will act as your Animatic.

Now you can create your shots in Anime Studio based on the timings of your Animatic. Drop each shot onto your timeline in your editing software on a track above your corresponding Animatic drawing.

There's no need to purchase separate storyboarding/animatic software, though there are some good options available.
mickimac12

Post by mickimac12 »

Thanks AmigaMan forgetting back to me so promptly.