AS 7.1

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

AS 7.1

Post by sbtamu » Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:29 pm

Is this an actually update or is this just the patch Lost Marble released on Aug. 20?

Thanks

Stephen
http://anime.smithmicro.com/index_pro.p ... ow_Updates
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
Lebostein
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:24 am

Post by Lebostein » Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:47 pm

I'm waiting for months for the lolalization update of Anime Studio 7 Debut!!! How I can download it?
Sarina
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:32 pm

7.1 Updates now live

Post by Sarina » Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:44 pm

Hi,

I'm excited to tell you that the 7.1 updates are now live.

7.1 includes added language support for French and German. In addition, Anime Studio 7.1 contains a switch layer interpolation fix and several other fixes.

Visit http://anime.smithmicro.com/ and click on 'Updates'.

If you own Debut 7.0, you can update to Debut 7.1. for free. If you own Pro 7.0, you can update to Pro 7.1. for free. Your serial number will be used for verification before being able to download the update.

Cheers,
Sarina
Sarina DuPont
(Former) Product Manager
Smith Micro Software, Inc.
-----------------------------
Follow us on Facebook and Twitter:
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/animestudio
Twitter: http://twitter.com/anime_studio
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4951
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:10 pm

Thank you, Sarina. Sorry, I'm not sure if it's my fault, but can't see the link for 7.1 pro. Can anyone help me?
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigger and animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
neeters_guy
Posts: 1569
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:33 pm
Contact:

Post by neeters_guy » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:16 pm

That is weird. I downloaded it this morning, but now the link is gone. I suppose somebody is working on the website and the link should be reinstated shortly ( I wonder if I should download it again?).

edit. 10 min. later: Okay, now I see the link is back.
ulrik
Posts: 1075
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Contact:

Post by ulrik » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:35 pm

selgin wrote:Thank you, Sarina. Sorry, I'm not sure if it's my fault, but can't see the link for 7.1 pro. Can anyone help me?
Here is the link:
http://store.smithmicro.com/cart.aspx?id=15709
User avatar
funksmaname
Posts: 3113
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Post by funksmaname » Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:19 am

is there a list of fixes anywhere? the interpolation switch problem was already fixed! most importantly - did the multi-core render crashing get fixed?!?!? *prays*
Genete
Posts: 3483
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:27 pm
Location: España / Spain

Post by Genete » Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:30 am

Sarina,
can you confirm the AS linux version abandon? Isn't there any chance to have a 7.x linux release?
-G
User avatar
Jean_R
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:02 pm

Post by Jean_R » Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:45 am

funksmaname wrote:is there a list of fixes anywhere? [...] - did the multi-core render crashing get fixed?!?!? *prays*
> Why it has not already been done ? :roll:

EDIT : Unfortunately Funksmaname, some bugs I/we suffered don't seem to be fixed : / I'm extremely sad.
Lebostein
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:24 am

Post by Lebostein » Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:42 am

Can I use this package (Mac OS) as stand alone installer or do I need a installation of 7.0?
User avatar
Mikdog
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Post by Mikdog » Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:08 am

I checked the size of the file. Looked way too big. So I didn't download it. My guess is that with the bloatware, stripped down it'd be around a 20MB download. When I saw it, I dunno, was just too big, like 300 or 500MB or something nuts. >>>MEH<<< Remember the days when MOHO was like, 12MB? You're not gonna fool me SM, thinking that adding bazillions and bazillions of megabytes of user-generated content is going to trick me into thinking you've ADDED VALUE to the package. Just the opposite really. And I know I'm not the only one who thinks that. Why not an option for just the .EXE or .DMG?

> EDIT - please also understand SM that Internet's not as cheap and fast everywhere in the world as it is in the US. South Africa's apparently the most expensive country for Internet. It costs me ... hmm ... about $55.00 for 2 gigs of Internet per month. And it is SLOWWWWWW. Took me like 2 hours to upload a 26MB file last night. Sucks.
User avatar
chucky
Posts: 3937
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Post by chucky » Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:16 pm

I checked the size of the file. Looked way too big. So I didn't download it. My guess is that with the bloatware, stripped down it'd be around a 20MB download. When I saw it, I dunno, was just too big, like 300 or 500MB or something nuts. >>>MEH<<< Remember the days when MOHO was like, 12MB? You're not gonna fool me SM, thinking that adding bazillions and bazillions of megabytes of user-generated content is going to trick me into thinking you've ADDED VALUE to the package. Just the opposite really. And I know I'm not the only one who thinks that. Why not an option for just the .EXE or .DMG?
I totally agree, Mikdog,a bug fix shouldn't include the bloat-ware.
In fact, that stuff should be a separate download anyway, if a download of the bloat-ware fails then we have to start over, just to get the .exe which is all we really want or need.

Most of the library stuff is for noobs, well I guess, to tell the truth I have not even looked at the new library or content at all in ASPRO 7 since I bought it.

Australia also suffers from bad internet and I'm currently mobile anyway so a couple of software updates can completely blow out the cap especially with all the masses of OS updates added into the mix.

BTW is there a complete list of fixes with that download anywhere?
:?:
Sequential offender.
my latest animations
Lebostein
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:24 am

Post by Lebostein » Mon Oct 18, 2010 6:57 pm

Yea, the size of the download is inadmissible!

The [Library] and the [Beginner Videos] blows up the package!

Examine the directories (Mac version):

- Library = 293 MB (should be optional)
- Beginner Videos = 249 MB (should be optional, @SmithMicro: Good idea, but have you ever heard of YouTube?)
- PDF-Manuals (3 languages) = 84 MB (should be optional)
- Application (.app/.exe) = 50 MB (necessary)
- Video Uploader = 11 MB (should be optional)
- Remain files (Brushes, Scripts, Tutorials) = 10 MB (necessary)

637 MB are optional files in my eyes!
60 MB are necessary to run and use AnimeStudio!

PS: The 300 MB library remained unchanged from 7.0 to 7.1 (examine the date of files), but we need to download it again! :(

Beginner Videos would be a good bonus for a CD version of AnimeStudio, but not for a download version! Load it up to youtube! Besides, a good promotion and buying incentive for your excellent tools. The library should be offered as an add-on package (with its own version number for example), free download for all users with serial number.
User avatar
pez
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:10 pm
Location: Canada

Re: 7.1 Updates now live

Post by pez » Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:36 pm

Sarina wrote:
7.1 includes added language support for French and German.
Hello,
what's this exactly?

Does Anime Studio Pro 7.1 support French-language phonetics for voice synchronization?

Thks
Pez
User avatar
Mikdog
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Post by Mikdog » Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:52 pm

Well, seems like I really aren't the only one. I'm emailed SM and asked if they'd perhaps consider sticking up a stripped-down version of the update. My 7.0 is working well (with the cycle bug fix that is) so I'm not in a huge rush to update. But its like me giving you a match wrapped in about a bazillion layers of styrofoam. Strange analogy but it'll do. And you want to light a cigarette. And the match is wrapped up in lots of layers. So the thing you want is hidden in many many layers but you just want the thing. See what I'm doing here? Explaining my analogy. Ooh boy its late. Bed-time.
Post Reply