Creating AVI with alpha?

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
CoffeeStained
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 4:58 am
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Creating AVI with alpha?

Post by CoffeeStained » Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:27 pm

Does anyone know how to go about this? I want to have a live actor interacting in a cartoon world. I went out and got some green fabric and can light it uniformly, using it in applications like iMovie produce an adequate cutout.
However, even knowing how to use a search engine, I cannot seem to find any low-cost software for the Mac (Snow Leopard) that can chromakey and create an AVI with alpha. Not much left in the ol' budget.
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Creating AVI with alpha?

Post by sbtamu » Sun Oct 03, 2010 10:25 pm

CoffeeStained wrote:Does anyone know how to go about this? I want to have a live actor interacting in a cartoon world. I went out and got some green fabric and can light it uniformly, using it in applications like iMovie produce an adequate cutout.
However, even knowing how to use a search engine, I cannot seem to find any low-cost software for the Mac (Snow Leopard) that can chromakey and create an AVI with alpha. Not much left in the ol' budget.
CinaGobs is free and can export AVI with alpha. Make sure you set the output to RGB + alpha. It will take you awhile to learn the software but it does work.

Stephen
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
CoffeeStained
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 4:58 am
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by CoffeeStained » Sun Oct 03, 2010 10:52 pm

As I mentioned, I'm using a Mac, so this software unfortunately does not help.
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by sbtamu » Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:53 pm

CoffeeStained wrote:As I mentioned, I'm using a Mac, so this software unfortunately does not help.
I thought there was a mac version of this, I guess I was mistaken. sorry
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5490
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger » Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:46 am

Keying out some colour is a fairly standard feature of video editing software. No. iMovie won't do, you need at least Final Cut Express. As for the results, aks in appropriate forums, I've never needed that effect.
CoffeeStained
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 4:58 am
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by CoffeeStained » Mon Oct 04, 2010 5:10 pm

iMovie would actually suffice if all I wanted to do was interact with objects in front of the actor, but I want the actor to interact with objects all around.

Unfortunately I can't afford even FCE right now, there's a good chance I might have to hold off until I can. However, an idea that I had, which is kindof a long workaround is to film the greenscreen, import the video into AS and work out all the interaction.
Save the background action as a movie.
Save the foreground action with green matte.
Composite the live greenscreen w/ background as lossless video,
then recomposite the foreground on top.

It's a bit of extra work, but all I've got is all I've got. I was just hoping to find some cheap consumer-level keying software that could allow me to do all the compositing at once in AS.
npcomplete
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 8:04 am

Post by npcomplete » Tue Oct 05, 2010 2:38 pm

Have you considered Blender VSE? It can do the keying (although be aware that it uses a nodal compositor) and it should be able to export/render with alpha I think.

Haven't done it myself yet, but I see this
Image
User avatar
patricia3d
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 4:38 am
Location: India
Contact:

Post by patricia3d » Tue Oct 05, 2010 4:55 pm

In above post check RGBA you will get transparent background MOV
which you can import in your Anime Studio Pro as Image ( Mov )

I have created with this method and you can download form

http://www.kelleytown.com/forum/animato ... PIC_ID=401
CoffeeStained
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 4:58 am
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by CoffeeStained » Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:16 pm

I am somewhat familiar with blender, though I admit that that 2.5 has really buffaloed my on it's workflow, but I never even tought about it! Thanks, it just might work!
Panda
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:06 am

Post by Panda » Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:07 am

idk if i can discuss this on this forum but you can always torrent FCE
CoffeeStained
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 4:58 am
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by CoffeeStained » Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:49 am

Probably the sort of suggestion that gets people banned, Panda.
Post Reply