welding/adding points without distortion

General Moho topics.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
basshole
Posts: 439
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:11 am

welding/adding points without distortion

Post by basshole » Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:55 am

Another really basic thing here. Let's say I create a circle shape, with four points, from the cirlce shape tool. It's supposed to be an eyeball. Now, let's say I want to create an eyelid by drawing a line across that circle, at an angle (to indicate anger). If I weld the points created by that line to the already present circle, the circle will distort. If I don't weld them, and leave the eyelid line and the circle unconnected, I can't fill the eyelid shape created by the extra line with flesh tone. It seems like there should be a way to keep the newly added/welded points from "pulling" on my perfect circle, but I don't know what it is. What am I missing?

I was going to put different eye expressions in a switch layer, with the interpolate points option on. That should allow all the eyes, if they have the same number of points, to transition between each other smoothly, so I am not worried about the lid being able to animate separate from the eye.
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5509
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger » Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:38 pm

Just build the eyelid as a separate shape on top of the eye.
User avatar
heyvern
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Post by heyvern » Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:39 pm

Create a separate eye lid shape and use masking.

For the most simple eye lid, just draw a filled "box" (or 2, one for the upper and lower lids) on a layer above the eye ball. Make sure the lids cover the eyes completely with extra room.

In the "eye" parent group layer set the masking to "hide all". Set all the layers masking options (except the eye lid layer) to "Don't mask this layer".

Set the eye ball layer (under the eye lid) to "Add to mask".

Make sure masking is turned on in the display settings.

This sample has a few more bells and whistles but is based on the same masking concept:
http://www.lowrestv.com/anime_studio/ey ... e_eye.anme
Image

-vern
basshole
Posts: 439
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:11 am

Post by basshole » Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:17 pm

How does this work in the context of it being a switch layer?
User avatar
heyvern
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Post by heyvern » Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:36 pm

It doesn't. This is an alternate way to do eyes.

If you want to mask eyes with switch layers, you would have to create a duplicate switch layer that is a mask for the lids.

To keep it simple you might try creating the eyes the way slowtiger suggested. Create lids that match the color of the face. These shapes would be over the eyes. You can then move them around on your switch layers and they cover the eyes but don't have to be "perfect circles".

-vern
User avatar
fiziwig
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:00 am

Post by fiziwig » Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:52 pm

Moveable eyes without masking that can be put in a switch layer (but don't have to be because they are movable)

http://fiziwig.com/anim/index04.php

--gary
basshole
Posts: 439
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:11 am

Post by basshole » Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:04 pm

Thanks, guys. I think between the several solutions you presented, I can figure out a way to make it work.

I guess the reason I was thinking switch layer is so that I could have several predefined states (happy, angry, etc.) and be able to simply select them when needed, rather than having to move by hand the the lids and brows each time I wanted a new expression.
User avatar
heyvern
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Post by heyvern » Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:12 am

If you use a bone set up you can save as actions. Then they are reusable without having to move the bones each time, plus you have unlimited variations without as much work.

You could apply an "angry eye" and "tweak it" so it isn't the same as all the other angry eyes. That is my main complaint with switch layers, they are always the same.

-vern
User avatar
jhbmw007
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:41 am

Post by jhbmw007 » Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:38 am

One other method would be to select the circle and then use scripts:draw:split curve and add maybe 3 or 4 points to each curve. So you end up with a circle made up of many points- and should have points located where you would need to draw your eyelid across.
basshole
Posts: 439
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:11 am

Post by basshole » Thu Feb 14, 2008 9:02 am

I think you win for now, split curve guy. Congratulations.
thespiritoflight
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:13 am

Post by thespiritoflight » Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:41 am

wow that's great, because i have ran into exact same problem and i was looking for a solution.

great input
Post Reply