Auto freeze keyframes for layer, too?

Discuss ideas for new features with other users. To submit feature requests to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Auto freeze keyframes for layer, too?

Postby Reindeer » Wed Aug 17, 2016 6:11 pm

I like the auto-freeze feature introduced in Moho12 very much. Quickens things quite a bit. Unless I'm wrong, it only works with bones, but it'd be nice if it would freeze the layer's transition, rotation and scale as well, since those are used just as much.
Reindeer
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:13 am

Re: Auto freeze keyframes for layer, too?

Postby funksmaname » Fri Aug 19, 2016 2:21 am

I think what it's effectively doing is 'freezing' any other element that would be effected on the same animation channel - so 'all points' or 'all bones' since many different points/bones live on those tracks it makes sure they are all kept in situ. The freezing is more about locking a pose, and layer transformation/rotation/scale is effectively a level above 'pose' (if that makes any sense)
User avatar
funksmaname
 
Posts: 3104
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Auto freeze keyframes for layer, too?

Postby Glen Crowell » Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:56 am

Auto freeze key frames is cool, but the manual says it only freezes all bones in the active bone layer. Not layer level or point layers. I've tested it for "Freeze all points" but I don't think it works on a vector layer.

One way around this, sorta, is to bind points to Pin Bones or regular bones so that they get keyed with the bones keys. This might work for mouths and eyelids where either you don't want to use Smart bone dials or they don't go far enough and need to be tweaked.

For layer animation you could bind a whole layer to a bone to use Auto Key Framing.

Hope this helps.
Glen Crowell
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:42 pm

Re: Auto freeze keyframes for layer, too?

Postby synthsin75 » Fri Aug 19, 2016 7:49 am

The manual is lacking. Auto-freeze keys does work for points. Say you have a four point circle. Move only one point on frame 12 and then move the others at frame 24. Without auto-freeze, the three points not keyed on frame 12 will interpolate from frame zero to frame 24. With auto-freeze, the three points not keyed on frame 12 don't start moving until frame 12. They have an automatic hold key set for all points any time any points are keyframed.

Bones just have three separate transform channels that are all auto-frozen.

But most animation should not be pose to pose, where everything starts and stops moving together. Auto-freeze keys is good for initial blocking.
- Wes
Image
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6319
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Auto freeze keyframes for layer, too?

Postby Reindeer » Sat Aug 20, 2016 12:43 am

As said I find autofreeze useful but I'd like to see it extended so one can also use it with Layer position, scale and rotation.
Reindeer
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 8:13 am

Re: Auto freeze keyframes for layer, too?

Postby Glen Crowell » Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:49 am

Thank you synthsin75! I should have tested that myself. Very cool. I thought I had to go under the draw menu and manualy select "Freeze points".
Glen Crowell
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:42 pm


Return to Feature Request Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron