Hide Edge Animatable

Discuss ideas for new features with other users. To submit feature requests to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Hide Edge Animatable

Postby lwaxana » Sun Jan 05, 2014 8:17 pm

It would be so convenient if we could animate "Hide Edge."
User avatar
lwaxana
 
Posts: 1279
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:50 pm

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby Hutch » Sun Jan 05, 2014 8:55 pm

I would find this useful too.
Hutch
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:20 am

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby sbtamu » Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:58 pm

For this I use stroke exposure and set the key frame to step.
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
sbtamu
 
Posts: 1900
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby funksmaname » Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:45 pm

you can also put an extra point at each edge of the line you'd like hidden and use line width for the line you'd like to hide instead
User avatar
funksmaname
 
Posts: 3101
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby lwaxana » Sat Jan 11, 2014 7:58 pm

Thanks for these great ideas sbtamu and funksmaname! I will try them out on my project. The workaround I have been using is to create several extra points in the hidden and non-hidden portion and slide them around as needed, but it is really messy. I think these workarounds will work a lot better. Thanks for your help!
User avatar
lwaxana
 
Posts: 1279
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:50 pm

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby KuzKuz » Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:15 pm

I love Anime Studio. This is my main software for animation for 6 years. I want to share thoughts on this subject. I too long waiting for this feature. Even few years ago I wrote to support with this request... I can hide edge or show edge with "hand-made patch", but it not user friendly and don't give me feel freedom. I want to feel professional tools instead of thinking how to do without them.
User avatar
KuzKuz
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:12 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby Víctor Paredes » Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:23 pm

KuzKuz wrote:I love Anime Studio. This is my main software for animation for 6 years. I want to share thoughts on this subject. I too long waiting for this feature. Even few years ago I wrote to support with this request... I can hide edge or show edge with "hand-made patch", but it not user friendly and don't give me feel freedom. I want to feel professional tools instead of thinking how to do without them.

Ok, I'll write a report asking for animated hide edge. Wish us luck :)
Víctor Paredes - Former Moho 12 Product Manager
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby KuzKuz » Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:29 pm

selgin wrote:
KuzKuz wrote:I love Anime Studio. This is my main software for animation for 6 years. I want to share thoughts on this subject. I too long waiting for this feature. Even few years ago I wrote to support with this request... I can hide edge or show edge with "hand-made patch", but it not user friendly and don't give me feel freedom. I want to feel professional tools instead of thinking how to do without them.

Ok, I'll write a report asking for animated hide edge. Wish us luck :)

Thanks! :)
User avatar
KuzKuz
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:12 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby sillyanimate » Sun Feb 21, 2016 7:04 pm

oh gawd this would make everyone lives better
Don't forget! No one is perfect!
User avatar
sillyanimate
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 7:28 pm

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby Glen Crowell » Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:13 pm

Yes, I've wanted this for years. Everybodies workarounds are good, but just like many other things that are now animatable, like shape order, layer order, target on and off, changing bone parenting, etc. it would be much appreciated.
Glen Crowell
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:42 pm

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby hayasidist » Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:35 pm

I've bumped Victor's original request (back in 7/2014) for this! (Mantis 32485 for those who care about such things)
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1677
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby synthsin75 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:12 pm

Okay, I have written an animated hide edge tool, but I have a question before releasing it. Like my animated shape sorting tool (before that became a stock feature), it uses a switch to keep track of the hide edge keyframes. Since switches can now show either dot or long pill keyframes, depending on whether they're interpolating sublayers, which one would people prefer the tool to automatically set it up as?

You can always change it whenever you want, but I thought it would be nice to have it default to what most people prefer.

Image

Features include:
  • Automatically showing the keyframe switch on the timeline whenever its vector layer is selected.
  • Hotkey "?"(shft+/) to toggle between the vector layer and its hide edge keyframe switch (there seems to be a bug that won't let you copy/paste keyframes of unselected layers shown in the timeline).

Notes:
  • I tried using layer markers for the keyframes, so they would be on the same layer, but the notes I have write to them made it too hard to see the actual keyframes. New idea...I might try using layer metadata with markers, to see if I can remove the visual clutter but still use those as keyframes. Does anyone use vector layer markers much?
  • I haven't tested this on a large project yet, so I don't know how well it may perform. There may be some things I can do to optimize it, if needed.
- Wes
Image
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby synthsin75 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:26 am

Update on the progress of animated syn_hide_edge tool.
  • Did successfully use layer markers as keyframes, and it's very nice to not need the extra switch layer for each vector layer you want to animate hide edge on...
    ...BUT it wouldn't work with smart bones. I don't think anyone would have a use for a version that doesn't support smart bones.
  • That actually simplifies things to go back to switch layers for the keyframes.

Any preference on the keyframes being dots or pills?
- Wes
Image
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby Greenlaw » Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:13 pm

Thanks for making this Wes. I'm planning to make a Brudders 'mini-short' for fun this weekend. I'll give it try then and post some feedback.

We really do need this feature natively, though. At my workplace, it can be a big process getting third party tools approved for use at work, so it's better for us there when a feature we need just comes with the program. (That or we write it ourselves at work. Some of the guys I work with can do that easily but I still have a lot catching up to do in that area. Sigh!) :P

Ugh...I actually need this feature right now at work. Thanks, Funksmaname! Your tip about keyframing width is coming through for me. :D
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Greenlaw's 2017 Demo Reel

Image
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 3118
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Hide Edge Animatable

Postby synthsin75 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 1:16 am

Thanks for the reminder, Dennis. I thought I had this done and had already moved on to something else (better hide bone), but it's still not quite working how I'd like.

Trying to get it to gracefully handle newly added shapes after some animation has been done. And it's never going to gracefully handle deleting shapes after animating hide edge.
- Wes
Image
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Next

Return to Feature Request Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest