Page 1 of 1

Disappearing Keyframes

Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:57 pm
by rafael
Not the first time I've experienced this and I'm assuming not the last either. Anyone know what's going on here? Some weird Moho quirk I'm just not aware of or is this a genuine bug? If so, it's a really REALLY bad one. (12.5)


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uuAN96lWaI4

Re: Disappearing Keyframes

Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:42 pm
by synthsin75
I'd have to see the file to diagnose it. I've never seen that behavior.

Re: Disappearing Keyframes

Posted: Mon Sep 02, 2019 4:13 am
by synthsin75
That happens when you have the dimensions of a channel split, and only when you click without moving enough for a real keyframe to be created.

Re: Disappearing Keyframes

Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 5:18 pm
by rafael
So essentially when dimensions are split it won't set a keyframe unless the value passes a certain threshold? That's unfortunate for me because I set a lot of keys here and there to hold positions longer and fine-tune timing.

Do you know if that's still the behavior in Moho 13?

Re: Disappearing Keyframes

Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:37 pm
by synthsin75
rafael wrote:
Tue Sep 03, 2019 5:18 pm
So essentially when dimensions are split it won't set a keyframe unless the value passes a certain threshold? That's unfortunate for me because I set a lot of keys here and there to hold positions longer and fine-tune timing.

Do you know if that's still the behavior in Moho 13?
As long as you have those dimension channels already keyed, so they show, or set to always show, you can just double click the channel on the timeline to set a key for the current value.
Behaves the same in v13. This is on purpose, because just clicking a bone would keyframe both X and Y dimensions...in which case, it'd be better to have dimensions joined.

Re: Disappearing Keyframes

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:00 am
by rafael
[/quote]
As long as you have those dimension channels already keyed, so they show, or set to always show, you can just double click the channel on the timeline to set a key for the current value.
Behaves the same in v13. This is on purpose, because just clicking a bone would keyframe both X and Y dimensions...in which case, it'd be better to have dimensions joined.
[/quote]

SUPER helpful! Moho separate dimensions is quite different than AE separate dimensions and thus isn't as necessary for my workflow as I had thought. It took your message for me to really appreciate the difference. Also, didn't know about double-click.

You still can't copy/paste a separated key, which is an issue, but I've forwarded it to the support team.

Thanks again!

Re: Disappearing Keyframes

Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:53 pm
by synthsin75
rafael wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:00 am
You still can't copy/paste a separated key, which is an issue, but I've forwarded it to the support team.

Thanks again!
You just can't copy/paste the same value, but yeah, that does seem like a bug.

Glad I could help.