Page 1 of 1

Moho Tools Panel Breaking (4K Display?)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:01 am
by ChrisDH
Hello Moho peoples,

It seems I have this dreaded scaling bug that I have seen people mention a few times and it is making working in MOHO impossible.

I have seen a the 'fix' where you have to change your DPI scaling but there is no way I can stare at for any amount of time

MOHO opens up fine but as soon as I click in the timeline the tools panel is breaking, I can reset the tools panel by opening and closing it but 1 click later and its broken again. I've contacted support and apparently they haven't heard of this issue which I'm amazed by because I have.

Has anyone had anymore success on a fix?

Here is my problem...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJV7A_8sNdA



Thanks

Re: Moho Tools Panel Breaking (4K Display?)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:31 am
by Greenlaw
I don't have a 4k display but I was wondering what happens when you enable Override High DPI Scaling Behavior in the Program Properties. This is supposed to address some issues with blurry or incorrectly sized UI when running on high-DPI displays.

Image

What I think this will do is make everything look tiny on your display, but maybe it will look better and be more usable?

Let me know what happens.

Re: Moho Tools Panel Breaking (4K Display?)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:55 am
by ChrisDH
Thanks for the reply,

So I have tried this and it makes it work but it looks terrible. Not only does the project panel become pixelated badly but the whole program looks fuzzy. You cannot do professional client work for hours on end looking at it.

I have no issues with any other software so this seems to be a bug purely within MOHO. It would be a real shame if this was the thing that forced me to move back completely to AE.

Re: Moho Tools Panel Breaking (4K Display?)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 1:51 pm
by chucky
l use Moho sometimes on my 4k on Windows 10, l know that l have got it looking just fine , l can't remember if there was an issue , I got it sorted before it was worth remembering.
Sorry I can't help with a fix, but just suggesting that you keep persisting, it should come good.

Re: Moho Tools Panel Breaking (4K Display?)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 4:49 pm
by Greenlaw
The only thing I can think of is to set the Windows UI scaling to 100%. My guess is that this would set the icons to their proper scale for the panels they belong to. (Assuming your Windows is currently set at 150%; the Moho UI looks about that scale in your video.) Setting it to 100% may possibly make things look too small on a 4k screen but maybe worth a try?

That said, I do think Moho's compatibility on high-density screens needs some work. To deal with this on my Cintiq Companion 2 mobile, I had to reduce the screen res from 2560 x 1440 to 1920 x 1080, which is considerably lower than what the Companion 2 is capable of. This was in addition to setting Windows scaling to 100%. (For me, this is not just for Moho though; a few other programs I use need this.) :(

Anyway, if you ever find a solution to your problem, please post. Thanks.

Re: Moho Tools Panel Breaking (4K Display?)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:48 am
by ChrisDH
The recommended scale is actually 250% on my machine so when setting it to 100% it becomes tiny...... and still breaks MOHO.

This is bizarre, I'm speaking with support so I'll see if they have any answers and let you know.

Re: Moho Tools Panel Breaking (4K Display?)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:20 am
by ChrisDH
Right, so I managed to fix this with absolutely zero help from the non existent support who didn't seem to care there was a bug because they had tested it on 4 machines and couldn't replicate the issue. :|

Thanks to people here pointing towards the DPI scaling issues however right clicking the icon and changing the high DPI scaling in program properties and compatibility although did fix the current issue, just caused more problems to the quality of the screen.

In the end I went into regedit and change the Win8DPIScaling option as this video > https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3w6SaeuCJ_o

This made everything tiiiiny so then was able to adjust the scaling to 350% to make it fairly normal and it fixed all the issues I was having inside MOHO.

Thanks again for the help here.

Re: Moho Tools Panel Breaking (4K Display?)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:30 am
by Greenlaw
That's very a very interesting solution. Thanks for posting the info and link.

Re: Moho Tools Panel Breaking (4K Display?)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:57 am
by chucky
Glad you got it going.
Shame it was such a hassle.